“Long Way To Live” by Britny Fox

Artist: Britny Fox
Title: “Long Way To Live”
Label: Spitfire Records
Release Date: 2/6/2001
Genre: Hard Rock
Rating: 2.5/5

When it came right down to it, Britny Fox were always one of those second tier Glam Bands, who despite having several solid rockers would not reach the level of success felt by their fellow Californians. They did have some catchy numbers in “Long Way To Love” and “Girlschool” both of which are present on this album – yet nothing else comes to mind as being super memorable beyond these two songs from the bands self-titled debut. Early on, the key presence in the group was “Dizzy” Dean Davidson, who as singer and guitarist held the fan focus very well. Dean left after the “Boys In Heat” record (1989) and be replaced by Tommy Paris who is present on this live recording. Paris’ voice seems more powerful and has a higher register than Davidson which makes some of the older stuff a little tricky on the ears since you are so used to hearing it a different way from the recordings. The rest of the lineup on this album remains original members with Michael Kelly Smith (lead guitar) and Johnny Dee (drums) and Billy Childs (bass). “Long Way To Live” is the only legitimate live recording from the group that fans can enjoy. If they seek music with former singer “Dizzy”, then they need to seek out one of the many listed bootlegs on the band homepage if they want it bad enough. This was a decent listen and I felt as far as live recordings go the set list included most of what you would hope to hear from the band. They certainly had the numbers I most enjoyed but if you are one of those people who are looking for more, perhaps you are better suited to a “Best Of” collection rather than a live effort.

Track Listing:
1. Six Guns Loaded
2. Long Way To Love
3. Lonely Too Long
4. Liar
5. Dream On
6. Closer To Your Love
7. Black & White
8. Guitar solo
9. Shot From My Gun
10. Louder
11. Over & Out
12. Turn On
13. Girlschool
14. Midnight Moses

Official Website: www.britnyfox.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.