“Live On Earth” by Star One

Artist: Star One
Title: “Live On Earth”
Label: Inside Out Records
Release Date: 4/29/2003
Genre: Progressive Metal
Rating: 8/10

The first time I had heard “Space Metal”, by Star One I was totally floored. This masterwork was created by Arjen Anthony Lucassen whom Progressive Metal fans know well for his work from his creation Aryeon. This double CD/DVD package immortalizes the final show of the tour from the album “Space Metal”. Fans of the release of the studio record will be glad that he decided to do this. He also created 2 separate releases of this release (the copy I am reviewing includes the DVD and is considered the special edition).

While the music will certainly impress you, the video footage is nothing more than a couple of cameras placed selectively in the venue to give you a straight concert shoot. There are limited special effects but you do get nice clean shots of the varied performers he has in the touring company for the concert. Most of it is shot from far away so that does tend to take away of the full enjoyment of the visuals. His touring company is an excellent one comprised of the following talented individuals: Russell Allen (Symphony X) and Damian Wilson on vocals along with Floor Jansen (After Forever). Robert Soeterboek and Irene Jansen also do some of the singing. Ed Warby (Drums), Peter Vink (Bass) and Joost Van Den Broek (Keyboards). The whole piece is tied together by the multi-instrumentalist Lucassen who plays Guitars, Synths and provides an additional vocal presence.

The DVD is only different in the inclusion of a couple of solos which are not present on the audio CD. Fans of Ayreon will especially enjoy this, for the piece includes a couple of the numbers he has released in that project as well. As a whole this concert release works to deliver you some solid Progressive Metal by someone who is considered the leader in this field. Favorites of mine are “Set Your Controls”, “Songs Of The Ocean” and “Intergalactic Space Crusaders”. This is a must by for fans of the genre or Arjen himself. It does not disappoint. There is also a decent booklet in the deluxe package which I would purchase if I were you. You might as well have the entire experience.

Track Listing (CD1 & CD2):
1. Lift Off
2. Set Your Controls
3. High Moon
4. Dreamtime
5. Eyes Of Time
6. Songs Of The Ocean
7. Dawn Of A Million Souls
8. The Dream Sequencer
9. Into The Black Hole
10. Actual Fantasy
11. Valley Of The Queens
12. Isis And Osiris
13. Amazing Flight In Space
14. Intergalactic Space Crusaders
15. Castle Hall
16. The Eye Of Ra
17. Starchild
18. The Two Gates

Official Website: www.Ayreon.com

Order a copy of this release with this Amazon.com code below:

Editor’s Note: This article was written for another medium prior to the 2005 launch of PiercingMetal.com and has been added to our content for your enjoyment.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.