“Live Live In Paris” by Backyard Babies

Artist: Backyard Babies
Title: “Live Live In Paris”
Label: Liquor And Poker Music
Release Date: 2/21/2006
Genre: Rock Punk
Rating: 8/10

Stockholm Sweden’s Backyard Babies have been hard at work after their support of Social Distortion. The group was performing to capacity crowds and delivering some of the most rock solid punk-edged music that was seen here in awhile and resultant of this tour bring you “Live Live In Paris”. The album finds the Backyard Babies energetic and electric as they perform 15 of their best numbers before a sold-out audience. It is very easy to get into their music even at a first listen and with limited knowledge of the band. Like many in the US, I was new to them and had only delved deeper at the suggestion of another writer who gave them a high recommendation. As a fan of The Ramones, Sex Pistols and The Clash, it was great to see a band taking example from these Founders and giving you a boot stomping, beer raising good time with their songs. The four member band of Nicke (vocals), Dregen (guitars), Johan (Bass) and Peder (drums) don’t overdo anything except the attitude and drive the point straight home with this CD that ends up being a perfect introduction to their sound. The CD is made up of 10 songs from last years “Tinnitus” (the only album available domestically which is made up of tracks from their other releases). Once you absorb “Tinnitus” at full volume you will totally enjoy the vibe of the live release. It is indeed a nice companion piece to this album. My personal favorites in the bands song roster fall to “Look At You”, “The Clash”, “Brand New Hate” and “Minus Celsius”. Each of these tracks is a memorable rocker.

It’s my hope that in this day and age where Green Day is finding new fans every day that some of them will pay attention to some of the Liquor And Poker artist roster. The Backyard Babies, The Black Halos and The Hellacopters are all bringing Hard Edged Rock and Roll back into the limelight and that is a good thing in my opinion.

Track Listing:
1. L’Intro
2. Look At You
3. Earn The Crown
4. Payback
5. Heaven 2.9
6. Powderhead
7. A Song For The Outcast
8. The Clash
9. One Sound
10. Made Me Madman
11. U.F.O. Romeo
12. Year By Year
13. Highlights
14. Star War
15. Brand New Hate
16. Minus Celsius

Official Website: www.BackyardBabies.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.