“Live In The Real World” (DVD) by Stream Of Passion

Artist: Stream Of Passion featuring Ayreon
Title: “Live In The Real World” (DVD)
Label: InsideOut Music
Release Date: 7/18/2006
Genre: Progressive Gothic
Rating: 5/5

When I first heard the Stream Of Passion project created by Arjen Lucassen I was completely blown away with how different the band had come out. If you have followed any of Arjens work with his Melodic Power Metal group Aryeon you already know of his capabilities in that area. Aryeon has given fans of this genre a series of well-written epics full of melody and tasty musicianship. He formed Stream Of Passion to be a different sort of group and one that would follow the female vocals of Marcela Bovio, whom he had worked on “The Human Equation” with. Marcela is not only an amazing vocal talent but she is also one of the most beautiful women in Melodic Rock music today and together Arjen and she were able to create a very interesting project. SOP is a band that can appeal to those fans of Nightwish, Evanescence and The Gathering for many of the basic principles they hold are also present in this group. “Embrace The Storm” is a very interesting record and while heavy at moments is no where near being a Metal recording. It is more of a Melodic Gothic Rock that makes use of some interesting keyboards and string arrangements while having a solid heavy guitar crunch underneath. The DVD captures the group live in concert in Arjen’s native Holland in front of a sold-out crowd and much to the delight of the viewer and fans present the band does not only perform SOP material. Since the album and bands debut was only released last year around this time it makes no sense to immediately follow it with a live performance of the same album. So instead of this, Arjen and Company bring to the stage a great amount of his work with Aryeon as they touch upon some of the bands back catalog including “The Final Experiment” and “The Human Equation”. The Ayreon tracks are also sung by Damian Wilson. I enjoyed the fact that he even slipped a little “Star One” in to the mix, and for those that don’t know this project it is another album that you should look into. There is also a DVD concert for that recording which is spectacular in its performance content.

The performers for the DVD Film are Marcela Bovio (vocals, violin), Alejandro Millian (piano), Lori Linstruth (guitar), Arjen Lucassen (guitar, vocals), Johan van Stratum (bass), Davy Mickers (drums), Diana Bovio (backing vocals) & Damien Wilson (vocals). You can imagine that with such a full cast of performers that this DVD has an amazing sound in its overall production. Clean, precise and moving all at the same time it was a DVD that I found myself able to watch from start to finish without skipping around or finding myself bored. I had no one particular favorite on the video and loved pretty much all of it with one exception. They also deliver a cover of Led Zeppelin’s “When The Levee Breaks” which I admit I did not enjoy too much given it being one of my favorite songs by those legends. The bands interpretation is at least interesting and there is a chance that others will disagree with me on this and enjoy it. This DVD comes with the highest of recommendations if you are a fan of incredible Melodic music and some of the bands referenced in the review. A companion CD of this is also available if you prefer to only have the audio and no visual. Given this band has not yet made an appearance in the US, nor has Ayreon for that matter this DVD is the perfect way to enjoy a full concert of some of their best material. Show your support for bands that need it.

Bonus Features: Behind The Scenes, Photo Gallery, Out In The Real World – film, Making Of Video Clip, and Tour Diary.

Song Listing:
1. Intro
2. Spellbound
3. Passion
4. Waracle
5. Wherever You Are
6. Computer Eyes
7. Calliopeia
8. Valley Of The Queens
9. Haunted
10. The Charm Of The Seer
11. Deciever/Songs Of The Ocean
12. Day One: Vigil
13. Day Three: Pain
14. Nostalgia
15. Out In The Real World
16. The Castle Hall
17. Into The Black Hole
18. When The Levee Breaks
19. Day Eleven: Love

Official Web site: www.streamofpassion.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.