“Live In The Real World” by Stream Of Passion

Artist: Stream Of Passion
Title: “Live In The Real World”
Label: InsideOut Music
Release Date: 7/18/2006
Genre: Gothic Melodic Rock
Rating: 5/5

Simply put the Stream Of Passion is another sign of the genius that is Arjen Lucassen. The guitarist best known for his creative output in sorcery and medieval themed Ayreon formed this group that brings his musical ideas into an entirely new and different direction. Focused on lead singer Marcela Bovio, this Gothic Melodic Rock outfit was set loose on an unsuspecting public in 2005 with their debut release “Embrace The Storm”. The album was full of deep and rich melody that with every cut showcased the talents of this amazing singer. It was not a Progressive or Power Metal band like Ayreon, or his other Star One project but it was not some lame commercial production either. Fans of the music of Evanescence and perhaps even a little of the slower Nightwish tracks would be able to find a level of appeal to this group. There was an intelligence and groove in every song and once you hear Marcela sing, you will be an instant fan. She has also recorded “The Human Equation” with Ayreon and I am sure that outside of this recording we have not heard the last of her. The concert was recorded in Arjen’s native Holland in front of a sold out audience. To make it more interesting for the fans the group does not only focus on the Stream material but also treats you to a great number of Ayreon tunes and makes sure to slip a little Star One in there as well. There is a booklet that features pictures of the band from the concert and some liner notes but the main news is that this product is also available as a DVD.

The CD release comes as a companion piece to the DVD film which has been met with resounding approval from the media. While I can safely say that the CD is enjoyable since it’s the same performance, it should not be the first item you purchase. I advise that you first grab the DVD and absorb it, invite friends over to see how incredible this band is and then go get the CD. You can leave it in your car or your office or even load it on your music player of choice.

Track Listing:
1. Intro
2. Spellbound
3. Passion
4. Waracle
5. Wherever You Are
6. Computer Eyes
7. Calliopeia
8. Valley Of The Queens
9. Haunted
10. The Charm Of The Seer
11. Deciever/Songs Of The Ocean
12. Day One: Vigil
13. Day Three: Pain
14. nostalgia
15. Out In The Real World
16. The Castle Hall
17. Into The Black Hole
18. When The Levee Breaks
19. Day Eleven: Love

Official Web site: www.streamofpassion.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.