“Live In L.A.” by Body Count

Artist: Body Count
Title: “Live In L.A.”
Label: Escapi Music
Release Date: 11/15/2005
Genre: Punk Metal
Rating: 6/10

Ice-T’s excursion into Heavy Metal with Body Count was certainly and interesting ride when it was first done. The group gained a fair amount of critical backlash based on the song “Cop Killer” which made an ignored album an impossible to find collectable. The group had a decent show of support from some people yet did not go over in anything more than a cult status. This was probably due to the musical time that it happened during. There was not as much acceptance when crossover bands where doing their thing. This was mostly the case when Rap and Rock of any sort was involved. Of course that has changed very much in today’s music scene where Rap finds its way into most Rock music and most bands who come around at least in the USA all seem to have a D.J as a member. Given that information Body Count is now something that finds its cult status elevated based on the impact that Ice-T had as a performer in acting and rapping. This DVD was filmed at L.A.’s famed Troubadour Club and the show is described as a one-off Memorial Concert. This was done because many members of the band have died since it was first conceived and from the original lineup only Ice-T and guitarist Ernie C. remain. The show is essentially a tribute or “Shout Out” to Mooseman, Beatmaster D and D-Roc. Two had lost battles with Cancer while the other was the victim of gang violence. The set is a tight one and at 17 songs is bound the please the Body Count fan or anyone else who enjoys hard-hitting Hardcore/Metal. The DVD is a several camera shoot that does well in capturing a live performance of the band in this club and I felt visually it was better than the recently issued “Smoke-Out” DVD. Since this is the bands own performance, the set is longer than that DVD offered as well. I did have some issue with the lack of being able to click through the set list but I am not sure if this was because I watched a reviewers copy and not a final release. There are no bonus features on the DVD and that would have been a good thing especially given that it was a Memorial show. A bonus CD of three songs from a forthcoming Body Count record are included. As mentioned above if this band was high on your list then this is for you. It was not a bad listen/viewing in my honest opinion but it was very lackluster in terms of features and functionality.

Track Listing:
1. Body Count’s N Tha House
2. Body M.F. Count
3. Masters Of Revenge
4. Killin Floor
5. Bowels Of The Devil
6. On With The Body Count
7. Murder 4 Hire
8. KKK Bitch
9. Drive By
10. Voodoo
11. There Goes The Neighborhood
12. Evil Dick
13. Last Breath
14. Survivin The Game
15. Bring It To Pain
16. Cop Killer
17. Mama’s Got 2 Die 2 Nite

Official Web site: www.IceT.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.