“Live In Concert 1987: Abigail” by King Diamond

Artist: King Diamond
Title: “Live In Concert 1987”
Label: Roadrunner Records
Release Date: 12/1/1990
Genre: Heavy Metal
Rating: 3/5

While this release was remastered a few years ago, my review words are about the previous and hence now unavailable issue of the album. That being said it’s the only one that I own and since I’ve heard the remastering can say that it was not sonically different enough for me to purchase. The King Diamond album “In Concert 1987: Abigail” was originally released by Roadrunner Records back in the days when they were called Roadracer and it captures a very “raw” sounding King Diamond set during the “Abigail” tour. Let’s face it, back in those days we didn’t find a lot of money really being tossed at groups like this and recordings were generally a few well placed microphones and a recorder on the soundboard. In the end you got what you got and had to run with it. With this recording I will say that despite its shortcomings how it is fantastic to have a full live set of King Diamond from the tour for what was to become one of his seminal albums. “Abigail” was the singer’s second album as a solo performer, but also his very first concept album and one that would set the ball rolling in how his musical presentation would continue. Since this was for the “Abigail” tour, the strongest focus of the material was from this album. As it was early in the King’s career I kind of expected a little bit more from his Mercyful Fate tenure but we only get the one tune in “Come To The Sabbath” which is slid in just after the show begins. We also get a couple of numbers from the singer’s debut album “Fatal Portrait” which was something I expected. For those who love the solos on live albums we find two with Andy LaRoque’s guitar solo and Mikkey Dee’s drum solo. Both of these are solid in terms of their technical delivery but there is just something that bores me about listening to these kinds of solos on albums these days as opposed to seeing them in the actual concert. Since I did not see King Diamond way back then I was able to deal with it.

The remastered version does not include the fold out poster that my version had but it’s all you can own nowadays. If you are a diehard King Diamond fan you will likely want to own his first official live recording as a part of your collection. Long live the King. Metal’s true Horror Historian.

Track Listing:
1. Funeral
2. Arrival
3. Come To The Sabbath
4. The Family Ghost
5. The 7th Day Of July 1777
6. The Portrait
7. Guitar Solo Andy
8. The Possession
9. Abigail
10. Drum Solo
11. The Candle
12. No Presents For Christmas

Official Website: http://www.kingdiamondcoven.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.