“Live From Mt. Fuji” by GWAR

Artist: GWAR
Title: “Live From Mount Fuji”
Label: Metal Blade Records
Release Date: 5/31/2005
Genre: Heavy Metal
Rating: 6/10

The return to Earth by GWAR is never an event that bodes much good for the Human Race. Their needs are generally base when it comes to us for they either need new Slaves or fodder to dismember during their live performances. Sadly, their return with this CD proves something more insidious, they are giving us a live album. No one is safe now. I know that I am risking my own doom for speaking out of turn on this heralded and awed Intergalactic presence, but I fear I must speak my mind. I was disappointed to find only a live CD and not a visual representation of this show released. GWAR is one of those groups that truly must be seen in person to appreciate in any sense. Otherwise you fail to get the point of what they do and also it makes just listening to them a little difficult to appreciate. There are a lot of jokes going on back and forth between the band members and audience and literally the evening is generally pure chaos when they perform.

I will admit that there are a handful of tracks from the group’s catalog that I like anyway, and enjoyed hearing them presented live. These tracks offhand for reference are “Have You Seen Me”, “Sick Of You” and “Salaminizer”. A lot of GWAR stuff can sound the same to those unschooled in their music which was why I leaned on the need for video of the same piece. So many bands are releasing the dual disc to almost guarantee sales and I think GWAR should have looked into this as an option. It would definitely lure those who were at least curious about GWAR to the release more readily than the casual listener would normally be prone to.

This release is more for the diehards in truth. While enjoyable at points I cannot say more than “It’s OK”. I do recommend that you check them out in concert, as it’s not an experience you will soon forget.

Track Listing:
1. Salaminizer
2. Krosstika
3. Bring Back The Bomb
4. Ham On The Bone
5. Immortal Corruptor
6. Womb With A View
7. Have You Seen Me?
8. Horror Of Yig
9. Crush, Kill, Destroy
10. Crack In The Egg
11. Reaganator
12. Bonesnapper
13. Sick Of You
14. Biledriver

Official Website: www.GWAR.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.