“Live At The Astoria” (CD/DVD) by Twisted Sister

Artist: Twisted Sister
Title: “Live At The Astoria” (CD/DVD)
Label: Demolition Records
Release Date: 11/18/2008
Genre: Heavy Metal/Hard Rock
Rating: 4/5

“Let me hear you say “I’m A Sick Mutha F**ker!!!!!” I’m sorry for my exuberance folks, but it truly seems that there is no better battle cry to begin commentary about the brand new DVD/CD or CD/DVD from the legendary Twisted Sister who come to us live and in living color on “Live At The Astoria”. The concert was filmed in 2004, only a few years after the band did their reunion shows and decided to keep on going much to the delight of their hard core fans and ever growing new loyalists. Interestingly enough this show took place only about a year after the boys did their “Live At Wacken” DVD/CD and while every song on that release can be found here barring “Stay Hungry”, the “Live At The Astoria” release offers a couple of additional tracks that the other live show did not feature. This minor concern will not bother the typical Twisted Sister fan because they are one of those bands whose fan base is ravenous about anything that they put out and snare it as soon as it becomes available. The difference between the two albums is that this live DVD also offers the buyer the complete concert on audio CD, so now the older fan can sit and watch the video, and then go to their offspring and say “hey, put this on your music player to learn something about the music that did it for me”. As a concert film this is a no holds barred presentation of Sister in action doing what they have always done best and that is decimating a concert venue stage. They have never disappointed their fans during a live show and while they are older now, they manage to bring you back in time just a little bit to the years where nothing mattered to you more than rocking and rolling with your friends and having a few cold beers.

If you have seen Twisted Sister in concert, you know that simply watching it on DVD is never good enough, but it is a nice way to be able to relive the excitement in the comfort of home. As expected, there are a number of the classic tunes delivered and Dee’s ranting and raving at the audience is pretty much par for the course of what he has always done. He directs his fire and brimstone at various people, the music industry and life’s absurdity in general, and even if you have heard him do this in the past it still manages to get your blood pumping again. Highlights were many for me as the set list pleased me quite a bit and managed to get to all of the tracks that I hold sacred from their back catalog. While I could list many of the tracks my absolute favorites fell to “What You Don’t Know”, “Shoot ‘Em Down”, “You Cant Stop Rock ‘N’ Roll” and of course the anthem of anthems “We’re Not Gonna Take It”. Everyone is kicking ass during the show as Jay Jay and Eddie trade leads while Mark “The Animal” assaults his bass to the thundering drumming of A.J. Pero. Dee gives equal time to Jay Jay which lets him speak/vent/comment on the scene of today by giving him a chance to get a few things off his chest. The guitarist often comments about the American Idol competition and how it amazes him about how it creates stars instantly while others work for years and years. I am paraphrasing a bit here but when you watch it you will see what he means a little better and probably agree. It’s rather ridiculous for that shows contestants to thank their “fans for the support’ when they have only being doing this for fifteen minutes compared to any hundred bands who have been slaving for years. The release comes with a booklet that while including a few photos, hardly does the performance justice. There are some nice liner notes by music historian Malcolm Dome and Jay Jay French, who each offer up their own unique perspective on the performance and the band.

I can safely say that one should add this release to their Twisted Sister collection and allow it to get them ready for the 25th Anniversary celebration of their famous “Stay Hungry” album which will be happening next year. I am sure it will be a busy one for these guys and if the chance arises for you to catch them in concert make sure you get to one as it’s always a good time.

Track Listing:
1. What You Don’t Know (Sure Can’t Hurt You)
2. The Kids Are Back
3. Under The Blade
4. Destroyer
5. Like A Knife In The Back
6. Burn In Hell
7. Ride To Live
8. Shoot ‘Em Down
9. You Can’t Stop Rock ‘N’ Roll
10. The Fire Still Burns
11. We’re Not Gonna Take It
12. The Price
13. I Am, I’m Me
14. I Wanna Rock
15. Come Out And Play
16. S.M.F.

Official Website: http://www.twistedsister.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.