“Live At Brixton ‘87” by Motorhead

Artist: Motorhead
Title: “Live At Brixton ‘87”
Label: Sanctuary Records
Release Date: 6/7/2005
Genre: Hard Rock
Rating: 3.5/5

Recorded in 1987, “Live At Brixton” is “yes another live Motorhead album”, and while it is one that can be a lot of fun to listen to; in the end it does not really stand up to its legendary predecessor “No Sleep Til’ Hammersmith” in my humble opinion. By 1987 there was a slight lineup shift and it was one that found drummer Pete Gill being replaced by original Motorhead skin basher Phil Taylor. It was nice to have another member of the bands “classic lineup” back in place and as expected he worked well with the guitar prowess of Phil Campbell and Wurzel. There is a very close similarity in terms of set list composition to the “No Sleep At All” live recording and that might put some people off who are seeking something a little bit more unique. However, on the same token if you are one of those tried and true Motorhead album collector’s this one might be perfect for your needs. In terms of band discography; the live show presented on this album was supporting their “Rock And Roll” album and as result there would be five numbers from this release performed.

The production of the live show seems rather sound and those couch potato fans might appreciate the ability to be able to easily control the volume on that which would what would be impossible to do had they witnessed this show in person. For me a number of “crucial” tracks are missing from the set, but that is going to happen with a band that has so much excellent legacy material. As I said this is a great example of the band at the time and it should be viewed in that fashion to gain maximum appreciation. A booklet is included that offers up a number of excellent photos and images of concert flyers and clippings. A narrative by a writer from Metal Hammer magazine accompanies these images. Perhaps this is more for the purists and if you are not among those kinds of fans then I suggest trying to listen to some samples before you lay your money down on it.

Track Listing:
1. Doctor Rock
2. Stay Clean
3. Traitor
4. Metropolis
5. Dogs
6. Ace Of Spades
7. Stone Deaf In The USA
8. Eat The Rich
9. Built For Speed
10. Rock ‘N Roll
11. Deaf Forever
12. Just ‘Cos You Got The Power

Official Website: http://www.IMotorhead.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.