“Liquid Monster” by Brainstorm

Artist: Brainstorm
Title: “Liquid Monster”
Label: Metal Blade Records
Release Date: 4/5/2005
Genre: Power Metal
Rating: 8.5/10

I have to say that I really liked Brainstorm from the second I began listening to “Liquid Monster”, there was something about it that simply appealed to me a little more than other recent Power Metal had done. Great songs across the whole album and a solid production that makes you feel the music as well as hear it. Lead singer Andy Franck who is also known for his band Symphorce really has a classic vocalist style to him. There are moments of Geoff Tate in his register and while he does not sound like a clone there was just something familiar about his singing that makes them easier to enjoy. It was interesting to find the overall sound of Brainstorm to be different from Symphorce which allows fans of one to easily appreciate the other. I would have to say overall that the players in this band take you back to the earlier days of the genre when it comes to their style. It is not over the top speed or too technically difficult to follow. It is basic Heavy Metal done with a solid amount of backing vocals that add to the delivery of each track. “Inside The Monster” while the second track pretty much aptly describe where the listener will find themselves by playing this album. “Lifeline” thunders by you with great drum run and is among the fastest tunes on the CD and brings to mind classic Metal numbers like “Fast As A Shark”. For the ballad lover there is “Heavenly” which shows that it is not all slam-bang for this band and Andy’s voice really shines during this one. Another pounding track is “Invisible Enemy”. Each track offers a nice take by mixing a good chorus inside the piece which is very easy to pick up and have you repeating your listen. The sad thing is a band like this will probably never see the USA all that much for the market for Metal is so scattered and the only way for best exposure is one of these Festivals like Ozzfest which leans to the “thrash core” aspect.

The roster of the group is of course Andy Franck (vocals) who fronts this very tight line of musicians such as Torsten Ihlenfeld (guitars), Milan Loncaric (guitars), Andreas Mailander (bass) and Dieter Bernert (drums). Franck is the second singer, joining the group in 1999 from their 1989 formation. Given the level of quality of this German powerhouse of Metal I am saddened that it has taken me this long to hear of them. Fans of groups like Tad Morose who also have a very classic style to their Metal will love Brainstorm and the more I listen the more I find myself thinking that this is one of the best releases of its year.

Track Listing:
1. Worlds Are Comin Through
2. Inside The Monster
3. All Those Words
4. Lifeline
5. Invisible Enemy
6. Heavenly
7. Painside
8. Despair To Drown
9. Mask Of Life
10. Even Higher
11. Burns My Soul

Official Web site: www.Brainstorm-web.net

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.