“Life The Curse” by Freya

Artist: Freya
Title: “Lift The Curse”
Label: Victory Records
Release Date: January 23, 2007
Genre: Death Metal
Rating: 2/5

There’s really not much to say about this one, since it’s a fairly standard entry in the glutted death metal genre, but it’s worth a listen for those in the know as it features “Lilith,” a song that sounds like an outtake from the Sword’s “Age Of Winters” (2006) and the album’s title track that’s nothing more than a bald-faced ripoff of Gwar’s 1990 classic “Salaminizer.” I defy you to play “Lift The Curse” and not be able to sing the Gwar lyrics in almost exact sync to the music since the two songs sound almost exactly the same. Having a musical influence is one thing, and this may not be a case of conscious plagiarism, but come on…

And the icing on this questionable cake is what must surely be the worst cover of Black Sabbath’s seminal “War Pigs” ever recorded, Exhibit A in the case against the inappropriate use of Cookie Monster vocals. It’s so beyond the pale that the listener almost has no choice but to picture the beloved blue Muppet in a pair of leather bell-bottoms, croaking into a microphone while flanked by Tommy Iommi and Geezer Butler, and I don’t know about you, but I find that image hilarious. That said, it’s so bad that it transcends its own awfulness to become an object of fascination for the Old School Metal junkie, unbelievably becoming a must-have for collectors of novelty Metal.

Track Listing:
1. Threads Of Life
2. Suffer Not One
3. Only The Martyrs
4. Down To The Last
5. Through The Eyes Of The Angel Of Death
6. Alleviate
7. Lift The Curse
8. Lilith
9. Born In Blood
10. War Pigs

Official Website: http://www.myspace.com/freya

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.