“Killadelphia” by Lamb Of God

Artist: Lamb Of God
Title: “Killadelphia”
Label: Epic Records
Release Date: 6/21/2005
Genre: Heavy Metal
Rating: 8/10

Lamb Of God is one of those bands that are setting the new standard in how Heavy Metal is to be delivered to the masses. Combining growling vocal lines and intricate guitar-riffing along with complex drum patterns, they are clearly making sure that they differ from their peers. With the release of the DVD “Killadelphia” you are given a fantastic look inside the bands live performance. You are brought behind the stage and into Sound check where the members and crew give you some insight into the music that they play. As I watched this piece I found it easy to see where the general level of appeal was coming from. This performance was filmed at Philadelphia’s famed Trocadero night club and they really did a great job in filming this show. Generally, I have found performance video shoots to be on the boring side, but in this one they make sure to include a wide variety of angles and close ups. You see all the players and not only the singer D. Randall Blythe. An immediate difference I noticed was clear visual of the drummer Chris Adler, you can almost figure out what he is playing. I liked this aspect a lot since drummers are almost always lost to fog machines or blinding lighting rigs in the videos that get released.

The production on this DVD is top-notch. When you add the elements of the lighting rigs and the sound mix from each song along with the video shots you almost feel as though you were watching Lamb Of God from the safety of the VIP area or side stage. Plenty of shots of the die-hard and dedicated audience are included as well. The bonus features are excellent as I enjoyed the back stage stuff the most. You see the band during setup and get to hear their perspectives on some of the music they play. In particular drummer Chris Adler gives an almost mini drum clinic as he explains some of the time signatures used in Lamb Of God music. It was very cool and enjoyable.

There are a lot of people who are referring to LOG as the next Pantera and while I don’t agree 100% with the statement on that based on the fact that Dime and his brother Vinny made some definitive and long lasting impressions on Metal that are still resounding today. I do agree that the initial brutality is in there that was part of the Pantera appeal. Let’s see if the band is able to stand up to the challenge, I feel with continued drive they can come very close at least. The Adler Brothers are very talented musicians and they work very well together. This is a highly recommended DVD for fans of pure aggressive Metal and it delivers on all counts. Check it out.

Song Listing:
1. Laid To Rest
2. Hourglass
3. As The Palaces Burn
4. Now You’ve Got Something To Die For
5. 11th Hour
6. Terror & Hubris In The House Of Frank Pollard
7. Ruin
8. Omerta
9. Pariah
10. The Faded Line
11. Bloodletting
12. The Subtle Arts Of Murder & Persuasion
13. Vigil
14. What I’ve Become
15. Black Label

Bonus Features: Interviews with the Band and Crew, Band and Director Commentary, “Sound check” segments, 3 Music Videos, Easter Eggs, Outtakes.

Official Website: www.Lamb-Of-God.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.