“Keeper of the Seven Keys – The Legacy World Tour 2005-2006” (DVD) by Helloween

Artist: Helloween
Title: “Keeper Of The Seven Keys: The Legacy – World Tour 05/06 Live In Sao Paulo”
Label: SPV Records
Release Date: 2/20/2007
Genre: Power Metal
Rating: 4/5

Once you bypass the rather deceiving title of “Live In Sao Paolo” and realize that you are actually getting a film from three continents, the viewer gets a rousing live concert from the one and only Helloween. It captures the band during the tour that supported their most recent studio album “Keeper Of The Seven Keys: The Legacy”. While it is true that we have seen the band with numerous lineup changes over the years the viewer of this DVD will find the band is still sounding fresh, exciting and true masters of the Power Metal genre – a musical style that the original lineup of the group actually helped to launch so many years ago. If you heard the studio album for which the tour comes from you will remember that it found the legendary group returning to a purer form of the genre as opposed to experimentation and changing the style around. As you can see the concert set list is loaded with their classics numbers such as “I Want Out” and “Future World”, and while Michael Kiske will always remain a favorite among the bands original fan base there is no knocking Andy Deris for his killer performance across all the material in this film. Given the historic nature of many of the older Helloween tunes and their being regarded as classic anthems for Metal I am happy to report that Mr. Deris does really well on them and blasts through them without any difficulty. Since the new album was the focus of their tour we see that the band touches upon “TKOTSK3: The Legacy” and of the songs represented from this album, “The King For A 1000 Years” is perhaps one of the best. The DVD opens with this number and it is a blazing number that literally will bring the viewer into the mix as far as audience participation goes. It is during shows like these at countries such as Brazil that have me complimenting the people in the audience because these folks really appreciate their Metal. It seems as thought the more videos that I see shot from this location the stronger this belief is reinforced in my heart. People around the world need to treat their Metal with as much enthusiasm and energy as this region.

The concert itself moves rather quickly and it keeps your attention with the interesting visual pans and great production it has. Helloween is excellent in concert anyway, so that just proves the fact a little more in the end. You as the viewer will find yourself singing along to the classics and pumping your fist in the air to their newest rocking material. Having been a fan of theirs for many years I can safely say that they have never sounded better or maybe its best noted that this is the tightest they have appeared in many years. Not only do you get an amazing set list but we also find solos from both drums and guitar and its always wonderful to see just how talented the players are on their respective instruments. The lineup is the same as that of the “Rabbit Don’t Come Easy” recording with the exception of their drummer who is now Dani Loble. By the time the whole thing ends you will find yourself completely out of breath but still screaming for more Metal. Isn’t it great how this area of the genre affects a person? It seems as though the big sound of Helloween’s guitar and those sing-along choruses make it a very worthwhile experience overall. The entire audience seems to know the words to these choruses by the way so for music fans elsewhere in the world you best get practicing. The tight performance runs about 1.5 hours and once that’s done you can watch their “Road Movie” along with interviews and video clips. SPV Records have also released a companion CD which features the concert portion of this DVD alone. This is a recommendation for all Metal heads, and especially the ones who respect the forefathers of the genre without question or hesitation.

Track Listing:
1. Intro
2. The King For A 1000 Years
3. Eagle Fly Free
4. Hell Was Made In Heaven
5. Keeper Of The Seven Keys
6. A Tale That Wasn’t Right
7. Drum Solo
8. Mr. Torture
9. If I Could Fly
10. Guitar Solo
11. Power
12. Future World
13. The Invisible Man
14. Mrs. God
15. I Want Out
16. Dr. Stein
17. Outro

Official Website: www.helloween.org

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.