“IV” by Zebra

Artist: Zebra
Title: “IV”
Label: Mayhem Records
Release Date: 6/28/2003
Genre: Hard Rock
Rating: 8/10

The Zebra CD “IV” was a long time in the making and the last time they recorded new music together was about 10 years ago. I was happy to see this released because I had been a long time supporter of the music and years ago this was one of my favorite area bands. With Zebra originally being from not so far Long Island the band used to play L’Amour all the time when it was the place to be. The group was originally a Led Zeppelin focused band until they got signed and released their self-titled album on Atlantic Records. The debut is something worth finding if you have some retailers that cater to more than just the Pop trappings of the day. The new CD is the bands fourth and it is a continuation from where they left off with several standout tracks such as “Arabian Nights” which has a very Zeppelin feel and that sort of groove that they were most known for. The three-member group of Randy Jackson (guitar/vocals), Felix Hanneman (bass/keyboards) and Guy Gelso (drums) are some of the most talented individuals around and this is proved to this day by the dedicated fans that still support them. Anyone who has seen or heard Randy Jackson especially will be amazed at how his voice as only gotten better over the years and not suffered a note as some other bands have. Other tracks that have a large impact on the release are “Angels Calling”, “Who Am I” and “So I Dance” each a solid song musically and lyrically. This was always a good band and it is a shame that they never established a larger amount of support beyond the cult status. Looking back, at least these supporters are the true fans and in the end that is all that counts.

It’s a good record and I say look into but recommend that the new fan first take a piece of advice and purchase the self-titled “Zebra” as well as “Zebra Live”. These albums are excellent and along with the comprehensive “Best Of” you can get a broader scope of where the band has been and what their career has offered you. Fans of solid Rock that makes sense amidst all of the stuff that is force-fed to us on radio stations will truly appreciate this band. They still rock and it’s never too late to come on board.

Track Listing:
1. Arabian Nights
2. Light Of My Love
3. Who Am I
4. Angels Calling
5. K.K. Is Hiding
6. Free
7. So I Dance
8. Waiting To Die
9. World That Is Learning
10. My Life Has Changed
11. Why

Official Web site: www.TheDoor.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.