“Iron Fist” (remaster) by Motorhead

Artist: Motorhead
Title: “Iron Fist” (remaster)
Label: Sanctuary Records
Release Date: 11/15/2005
Genre: Hard Rock
Rating: 4/5

To celebrate the band’s 30 year career, Sanctuary Records is re-issuing expanded and remastered versions of some of their best albums. The two CD sets come with the original album remastered, along with a second CD that is loaded with bonus and unreleased tracks. The jewel cases are slip-cased and include full-color booklets that are packed with topical information on the release as well as photos and notes from the time of the album’s release.

“Iron Fist” is quite literally the second part of “Ace Of Spades” when it comes down to it and despite the band hating that association it is kind of hard to follow up an album that caused as much of an impact on their career as the 1980 release had done. In 1982 when “Iron First” was released we found the band following a lot of the same formula that was used on the blockbuster release especially in the title track itself so one cannot fault the music buying public of the day thinking this a very close brother to that album. Songs like “Speedfreak” and “Shut It Down” were typical Motorhead rockers and since this was not too much the experimental time for the band there is a lot of similarity on many of the albums tracks in the terms of riffs and drum patterns. Lemmy is Lemmy, of course and I don’t think this will ever change in sound so one counts on the guitar riffs and drum displays to offer the level of difference to make the tunes more unique to the listener. Song wise this is not one of my favorite Motorhead albums outside of the main track itself, but it is not a terrible album at all. The choice other memorable moments can be found in the release if you are willing to let them catch you and Clarke did a solid job of production on this one. The remaster comes with a bonus CD of a live concert, the best way to enjoy Motorhead as you all know and despite the bands growing success “Fast” Eddie Clarke would leave the lineup to pursue other interests in his life after this was released and toured. He would be missed and start a rotation of members that would eventually find Lemmy as the sole remaining original player.

Bonus CD: Remember Me I’m Gone (b-side from Iron Fist single). Live In Toronto Maple Leaf Gardens (5/82): Overkill, Heart Of Stone, Shoot You In The Back, The Hammer, Jailbait, America, (Don’t Need) Religion, Capricorn, (Don’t Let ‘Em) Grind Ya Down, (We Are) The Roadcrew, No Class, Bite The Bullet, The Chase Is Better Than The Catch, Bomber.

Track Listing:
1. Iron Fist
2. Heart Of Stone
3. I’m the Doctor
4. Go To Hell
5. Loser
6. Sex & Outrage
7. America
8. Shut It Down
9. Speedfreak
10. (Don’t Let ‘Em) Grind you Down
11. (Don’t Need) Religion
12. Bang To Rights

Official Website: www.iMotorhead.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.