“Iron Fist” – Deluxe Edition (remaster) by Motorhead

Artist: Motorhead
Title: “Iron Fist” – Deluxe Edition (remaster)
Label: Sanctuary Records
Release Date: 2/10/2009
Genre: Hard Rock/Heavy Metal
Rating: 4/5

In celebration of the bands 30th anniversary back in 2005, Sanctuary Records released remastered and expanded editions of many of the Motorhead classic albums. The double disc editions would feature the original album along with a second disc that was loaded with live tracks, rarities and outtakes that made them must haves for the discriminating fans music library. Full color booklets came par for the course with the remasters and they featured photos and topical information about the band during the time of the albums initial release that was really interesting historical reading. We reviewed a number of these albums when they first came out and since the musical content was the same we have re-presented our original comments about them below.

“Iron Fist” is quite literally the second part of “Ace Of Spades” when it comes down to it and despite the band hating that association it is kind of hard to follow up an album that caused as much of an impact on their career as the 1980 release had done. In 1982 when “Iron First” was released we found the band following a lot of the same formula that was used on the blockbuster release especially in the title track itself so one cannot fault the music buying public of the day thinking this a very close brother to that album. Songs like “Speedfreak” and “Shut It Down” were typical Motorhead rockers and since this was not too much the experimental time for the band there is a lot of similarity on many of the albums tracks in the terms of riffs and drum patterns. Lemmy is Lemmy, of course and I don’t think this will ever change in sound so one counts on the guitar riffs and drum displays to offer the level of difference to make the tunes more unique to the listener. Song wise this is not one of my favorite Motorhead albums outside of the main track itself, but it is not a terrible album at all. The choice other memorable moments can be found in the release if you are willing to let them catch you and Clarke did a solid job of production on this one. The remaster comes with a bonus CD of a live concert, the best way to enjoy Motorhead as you all know and despite the bands growing success “Fast” Eddie Clarke would leave the lineup to pursue other interests in his life after this was released and toured. He would be missed and start a rotation of members that would eventually find Lemmy as the sole remaining original player.

Bonus CD: Remember Me I’m Gone (b-side from Iron Fist single). Live In Toronto Maple Leaf Gardens (5/82): Overkill, Heart Of Stone, Shoot You In The Back, The Hammer, Jailbait, America, (Don’t Need) Religion, Capricorn, (Don’t Let ‘Em) Grind Ya Down, (We Are) The Roadcrew, No Class, Bite The Bullet, The Chase Is Better Than The Catch, Bomber.

The cosmetic differences between these remasters and the initial batch are minimal but the first and most prominent one is that the jewel case which fit snugly into a cardboard sleeve has been changed. The CD’s now come on a double cardboard digipak that slides into a clear plastic sleeve while the artwork on the CD’s now feature the full visage of “Snaggletooth” as opposed to only half of his sinister mug and these new releases are black instead of the wider array of colors on the earlier ones. The booklets and content remain the same and while the hold a pricy tag for a double disc set in this economy, they are high recommendations based on the bands impact and relevance to Metal music history.

Track Listing:
1. Iron Fist
2. Heart Of Stone
3. I’m the Doctor
4. Go To Hell
5. Loser
6. Sex & Outrage
7. America
8. Shut It Down
9. Speedfreak
10. (Don’t Let ‘Em) Grind you Down
11. (Don’t Need) Religion
12. Bang To Rights

Official Website: http://www.iMotorhead.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.