“Inflikted” by Cavalera Conspiracy

Artist: Cavalera Conspiracy
Title: “Inflikted”
Label: Roadrunner Records
Release Date: 3/24/2008
Genre: Heavy Metal
Rating: 4/5

It seemed that while the legendary Brazilian Metal band Sepultura had continued on for many years with different members in its roster that the hardest core of its following had not so secretly hoped for a reunion of the band with singer Max Cavalera fronting it once again. For many this made sense as over time the band had morphed quite a bit from its original style with their no longer new singer Green, but when Igor Cavalera chose to move on from the lineup as well it seemed as though the brothers would never again be working together – until now. Presenting the Cavalera Conspiracy, a reunion of sorts but in truth also a brand spanking new and exciting collaboration between the siblings that is sure to satisfy even the most critical of the Sepultura legions. The band also features the talents of Marc Rizzo (Soulfly, Il Nino) and Joe Duplantier (Gojira) on guitar and bass respectively and in the end delivers a crushing debut that offers a number of highlights. One could expect that with this lineup making up the bands core that there would be tastes of the Thrashing we found in bands like Soulfly and Sepultura with a lot of the groove we found in Gojira and in the end that is pretty much was is to be found on this hell raising release. The album starts off strong and finds the brothers in a lock with one another that might surprise those who recall the more than ten years it had been since they worked on material together. It’s great to find that the familial bond had kept these guys in sync with one another and the tightness of the band can literally be felt on every track. The album begins with “Inflikted”, which is not only a crushing intro to the band but it had a tasty Middle Eastern guitar vibe during parts of it that made it all the more interesting. Coincidently, “Inflikted” was supposed to be the bands name but I think it was the wiser choice to play off the family name for this project. “Sanctuary” will start off the circle pits without question as Rizzo deftly displays just how good a guitarist he is over the thundering drumming of Igor, it’s a tune that is half Thrash and half slow breakdowns that will really get the audience moving when delivered in concert.

There’s a couple of interesting guest appearances on the album and the first comes by way of Max’s stepson Richie Cavalera who offers up some vocals for “Black Ark”. He is the singer of his own band called Incite and he seems to be following in good Metal footsteps from what we hear during this track. The next guest comes from Rex Brown, who does some bass during “Ultra-Violent”. Fans of the Hardcore movement will enjoy “Hex” as this calls to mind all the intensity of that scene and “The Doom Of All Fires” is pure and simple classic Thrash when you sit down and analyze it. That was one of my favorites on the release along with the smack down of an opening “Inflikted”. The album definitely serves an immediate need in the minds of many Metal heads because not only does it give them the opportunity to hear the Cavalera’s doing their thing together again, but it also gives any fan of today’s Metal the chance to hear how legendary providers of the stuff would approach it. This album was followed by sellout touring appearances and while they have made clear that this is a side project from their other main gigs, one can only hope that they continue to work together on this one. It is very simply too good to only find one album coming from it. A booklet is provided that features all the lyrics and the listener can see that the song writing is also rather strong in the lyrical sense with its message. It would have been nice to see the brothers offering up some comments about working together again, but that is not on the release liner notes so I guess fans will have to search the Internet for tour reports and interviews that focus on that topic.

For a side-project this was a truly explosive debut that I hope we find being attended to again soon. I recommended this one for any Metal fan who likes the driving and intense stuff without question.

Track Listing:
1. Inflikted
2. Sanctuary
3. Terrorize
4. Black Ark
5. Ultra-Violent
6. Hex
7. The Doom Of All Fires
8. Bloodbrawl
9. Nevertrust
10. Hearts Of Darkness
11. Must Kill

Official Website: http://www.cavaleraconspiracy.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.