“Icon” by Styx

Artist: Styx
Title: “Icon”
Label: Universal Music
Release Date: 8/31/2010
Genre: Progressive Hard Rock
Rating: 2.5/5

Let’s say that you are one of those fans that only likes a certain amount of a bands repertoire and outside of those tunes there is not a single song that you have any interest in. If this is you, then some of the single CD edition “Icon” series of releases is right up your alley. When it came to the band Styx, the folks at Universal Music released two separate editions and these are some views on the single CD version. The bottom line is while this is a very sound release and features some notables like “Come Sail Aawy”, “Babe” and “Too Much Time On My Hands”; it will clearly leave you wanting more oince the album have completed its run. Powerful numbers from the bands catalog that don’t often get the proper attention are touched upon as “Lorelei” and “Renegade” along with “Blue Collar Man (Long Nights)” help to melt your stereo speakers but at only twelve tunes you will still be hungry after this appetizer is finished. I love and hate the “Icon” albums for a few reasons and the first is because they play it a little too safe with the hits instead of tossing in something that might surprise a listener. The tunes also only present the vocal talents of Dennis DeYoung who has not be in the band for many years at this point in time. For many these are the bands “Best Of Times” if you pardon the obvious pun. They are also to be considered a “no frills” release since they are often omitting band images and artwork or liner notes. We don’t get much of that with these eco-friendly albums. They would have served their public better by using the example set by Sony Music who did the “Setlist” albums, as each released offered you artwork, web-links and additional information if you played the CD in your computer. I have to think that these should have been exclusive online releases and available only via MP3 downloading services like I-tunes or Amazon MP3. Today’s younger generation of listeners are accessing music in this fashion anyway while the legacy fans want something substantial to hold. We are clearly in the minority.

On the “like” side these are incredibly affordable and perfect holiday presents or emergency birthday gifts because you can buy a handful of them and not break your bank account. Show the uninformed to Styx listener why they should be “Rocking In Paradise” (oh wait, that tune is not on here…..shame on you for leaving another favorite off of a hits piece).

Track Listing:
1. Blue Collar Man (Long Nights)
2. Come Sail Away
3. Babe
4. Mr. Roboto
5. Fooling Yourself (The Angry Young Man)
6. Lorelei
7. Renegade
8. Too Much Time On My Hands
9. Mademoiselle
10. Snowblind
11. Lady
12. Show Me The Way

Official Website: http://www.styxworld.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.