“Icon” by KISS

Artist: KISS
Title: “Icon”
Label: Universal Music
Release Date: 8/31/2010
Genre: Hard Rock
Rating: 3/5

If you already own the KISS compilation entitled “The Best Of KISS: The Millennium Collection” Volume I please stop reading this narrative because you already own this release entitled “Icon”. Yes, from beginning to end in terms of presented material, “Icon” in its single CD configuration is a re-packaging of that 2003 release. Those who might recall that issue are already aware of how the release delivered classics from the band from their earliest years 1974-1979 and did a good job of getting to the point with one or two minor flubs. If you don’t have it then this is a quick way to indulge yourself in some of the bands best songs. The immediate difference is how these “Icon” editions for KISS don’t seem to present any of the bands iconic images and that is a major part of their appeal as well. In the aforementioned “Millennium Collection” we found three band photos and three fold out pages of biographical information but on “Icon” we get nothing of the sort which to me is a bit of a grievous offense. The album is priced to sell of course and comes in a jewel case which surprised me a little bit with everyone going green these days. The lack of extras & overall difference made me feel that this is only worth owning if you do the digital download method and didn’t own it already when it was first presented under the other name. If you must own a copy then I advise you look around a little more to find the double CD edition which is also available. This edition is strictly best for those seeking to educate younger listeners or newbie’s about the greatness of KISS music on the cheap. Perfect stocking stuffers or for those mavens that must have every single iteration of the bands brand name in terms of music. You know who you are.

Track Listing:
1. Strutter
2. Deuce
3. Hotter Than Hell
4. C’Mon and Love Me
5. Rock and Roll All Nite (live)
6. Detroit Rock City
7. Beth
8. Hard Luck Woman
9. Calling Dr. Love
10. Love Gun
11. Christine Sixteen
12. I Was Made For Lovin’ You

Official Website: http://www.kissonline.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.