HIM @ Irving Plaza (11/14/2004)

Logo - HIM

Artist: HIM
Venue: Irving Plaza (New York, NY)
Date: 11/14/2004
Opener: Monster Magnet & Melissa Auf De Maur
Label: Sire Records

H.I.M. has returned to the States for a short tour that once again brought them to New York City for two nights out of the 14 listed on the tee-shirts being sold. This time around the venue would be larger as well as the opening acts being a litte more known to a wider public. Monster Magnet would be on hand as well as Melissa Auf De Maur. Each one of these performers an interesting act which made the ticket price a good deal. The last time H.I.M. played the States the NYC Venue was the Bowery Ballroom where about 500 people got to see them in a very intimate venue (discussed HERE). Now this would be doubled by Irving Plaza and both shows were completely sold out.

The band was in top form this evening and they cruised through their songs. Ville does a smart thing by telling people the name of the track performed. Given that H.I.M. music has only become available in the USA recently, I think this is a smart move to do as it will generate extra interest in more of their material. While the band sounded great and Ville’s voice was in good form, I did find the vocal mix on his mic to be a tad low. It made it difficult to understand and here him sometimes. Ville clearly does not follow a set script in his banter with the audience as he purely seems to talk what is on his mind. Among the funny comments was when he dedicated a song to the guys in the audience, all 13 of them. The Sunday evening show was defiantly more on the girl side and that is always fine by this Reporter.

As I have listed below, the band seemed to concentrate on the hits package “And Love Said No”. I thought this was great for the CD is guaranteed to hold a few of everyones favorite numbers. In particular some memorable moments were during “Join Me In Death” when the audience helped out in the end in particular while Ville pointed the mic to them. Quite powerful to hear the almost 1200 hundred voices singing in unison shouting “This Life Aint Worth Living!!”. While I enjoyed the performance overall, I did have a couple of minor critiques on it. Towards the end of the set when the band played “In Joy And Sorrow”, there was far too much wasted banter time. Ville talked and talked and then made each member of the band scream at the top of their lungs. Then he brought out some people he knows and had them do the same thing. Now, this went on for 15 minutes and totally ruined the momentum of the evening if you ask me. In this time they could have played at least two more numbers which the audience in most cases would have preferred. No one in my vicinity enjoyed this portion of the show. I had later realized that the guests were Bam Margera and some of the other cast of the MTV show that I have absolutely no background in.

Despite the couple of things that I felt were wastes of the audiences time I had a really enjoyable experience at the show and was happy to see how they had built up a bigger crowd than we saw at the Bowery Ballroom only a few months earlier. The band was going to perform for a second night tomorrow and I snared tickets for that show as well since I wanted to see if I would find any differences from the one tonight.

Monster Magnet Set:
1. Dopes
2. Powertrippin
3. Radiation Day
4. Monolithic Baby
5. Unbroken (Hotel Baby)
6. Megasonic
7. Spacelord.

H.I.M. Set:
1. Buried Alive By Love
2. Your Sweet 666
1. Sacarament
2. Wicked Game
3. Right Here In My Arms
4. Heartache Every Moment
5. Its All Tears
6. Join Me In Death
7. Fortress Of Tears
8. Solitary Man
9. Poison Girl
10. Lose You Tonight
11. Love Said No
12. In Joy And Sorrow
13. Soul On Fire

Editor’s Note: This article was written for another medium prior to the 2005 launch of PiercingMetal.com and has been added to our content for your enjoyment.

Official Website: www.heartagram.com
Official Website: www.monstermagnet.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.