“Helsinki Vampires” by The 69 Eyes

Artist: The 69 Eyes
Title: “Helsinki Vampires”
Label: Cleopatra Records
Release Date: 9/19/2006
Genre: Gothic Rock & Roll
Rating: 4/5

Fans of The 69 Eyes can rejoice as the music and video of this great Gothic Hard Rock group is now available thanks to the folks at Cleopatra Records. This DVD was originally released in 2003 from a show recorded in the Tavatasia Club in their native Finland back in 2002. The concert footage performance includes a healthy dose of the bands best tunes up until the time of the filming. Given it’s a club appearance the best effects one sees is the dramatic lighting or different camera angles. There is nothing really in the way of outrageous stage setups or designs but you do get a rocking set from “The Helsinki Vampires” back home among their die hard fans and this is never bad for a concert piece. From starting tune to encore lead singer Jyrki 69 is in great form and style as he delivers the music to perfection. He is one of those enigmatic front men that make watching a band all the more fun and along with guitarist Timo Timo and drummer Jussi, he leads the charge of Goth & Roll greatness. While the production is limited to great sound and clear visuals this DVD will impress any who watch it and it’s sure to help the bands cause by generating some additional interest in them. Before the deal with Cleopatra Records the only release that has been domestically available was their latest album “Devils”. This is a band that rocks and has a very accessible style which has allowed them to build up an audience in parts of the world where finding their music is more often than not a truly difficult undertaking. This DVD also includes all of the bands video clips and several other interesting features guaranteed to please the children of the night.

Bonus Features: Videos for Betty Blue, Dance D’Amour, The Chair, Brandon Lee, Gothic Girl, Wasting The Dawn, Call Me & Mr. Pain. “Beyond The Dawn” director’s cuts, “From Russia With Goth” the band in Moscow, Interview With The Vampire & Discography.

1. Crashing High
2. Angel On My Shoulder
3. Forever More
4. Gothic Girl
5. Velvet Touch
6. Don’t Turn Your Back On Fear
7. Stolen Season
8. Sleeping With Lions
9. Stolen Season
10. Sleeping With Lions
11. Betty Blue
12. Radical
13. Still Waters Run Deep
14. The Chair
15. Dance D’Amour
16. Framed In Blood
17. Stigmata
18. Brandon Lee

Official Web site: www.69eyes.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.