“Helping The World To See” by Vehemence

Artist: Vehemence
Title: “Helping the World To See”
Label: Metal Blade Records
Release Date: 4/6/2004
Genre: Melodic Death Metal
Rating: 6.5/10

As I listened to the CD I noticed that there was a great bonus included on the album. There is a video with live Vehemence performance footage from the Las Vegas Metalfest [August 30, 2003] and some backstage home video clips. In Vehemence we have a good example of Melodic Death Metal from Arizona [US].

The sound is brutal but not heavy to the most possible core and the production is of a very good quality. The heavy guitars are well composed with the drumming. Some tracks sound like true Death Metal, while some on the other hand contain great material that falls more into a Melodic Death Metal genre. Tracks such as “Alone In Your Presence” start off with acoustic riff which leads into the soft electric lines. Unexpected for this type of band/album. It was a very nice surprise to see that the guys in this band have the capability and talent to cross genres. Looking at it track by track I would have to say that 50% falls to Melodic while the other 50% falls into Classic Death for me. The vocals are varied enough going from brutal death growling to the high-pitched screams and back again. I was very impressed by the lyrical content as the band focuses more on real life events such as suicide bombings and war more so than nonsense like “I have dead fetuses in my closet”.

Yet despite some of the high points I found I still feel this album is not a breakthrough for the genre. On the release the band pulls off this style and their craft very well and there did not seem to be a ripping off of the other groups by mixing them together for their sound and just putting it out that way. Overall the casual Death Metal fan as well as the diehard can appreciate this. I feel this will be accepted by most Death Metal fans.

Track Listing:
1. By Your Bedside
2. Kill For God
3. Trinity Broadcasting (Know Your Enemy)
4. To The Taste
5. You Don’t Have To Be Afraid Anymore
6. Alone In Your Presence
7. Spirit Of The Soldier
8. Darkness Is Comfort
9. What Could Go Wrong?
10. We Are All Dying
11. Her Beautiful Eyes – bonus track

Official Website: http://www.myspace.com/vehemence

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.