“Hell To The Unknown” (remaster) by Cronos

Artist: Cronos
Title: Hell To The Unknown: Anthology (remaster)
Label: Sanctuary Records
Release Date: 12-9-2006
Genre: Heavy Metal
Rating: 3.5/5

After fronting Venom for nine years, lead singer/bassist Conrad Lant aka Cronos would leave the band and start his own project simply called “Cronos”. The band would release three albums over their rather short career – “Dancing In The Fire” (1990), “Rock & Roll Disease” (1991) and “Venom” (1995). The first two featured completely new original material from the musician while the third release would find him revisit and re-record some Venom classics with his new band. The other two recordings that preceded this would be Metal, but they would not be the exact same fashion that his core fans might have expected of him. The title Anthology is misleading for while it usually refers to a release that has the best of the artist over the span of their catalog, this one instead features all of the music from the three Cronos recordings. This completeness factor makes the album a must have for any discerning Venom or Cronos fan and all of the tracks have been remastered by Cronos himself.

The enclosed booklet features extensive liner notes and photos from this point in Lant’s career and will most likely bring back memories if you followed the group while it existed. He would reunite with Venom in 1997 and together issue the album “Cast In Stone”. While it is true that Venom and Cronos were not for everyone they still hold a high place of honor and respect in the Metal Encyclopedia for their efforts and their influence on some of the bands that followed after them. Given these individual CD’s are no longer available and long out of print, this is the best way to complete your Venom and Company library. Though not the biggest fan myself, I found this a worthy addition to my music collection.

CD2: Messages Of War, Aphrodisiac, Fantasia, 1000 Days In Sodom, Rock N’ Roll Disease, Sexploitation, Boobytrap, Sweet Savage Sex, Hell To The Unknown, I’ll Be Back, Satanachist, Bad Reputation, Midnight Eye, Black Xmas, Calm Before The Storm, Gypsy, Krackin’ Up, Muscle, Nothing Sacred, The Chanting Of The Priests

Track Listing CD1:
1. Cronos: Live Set Intro Tape
2. In League With Satan
3. Vampyr
4. Terrorize
5. At War With Satan
6. Dancing In The Fire
7. Painkiller
8. Superpower
9. Fire
10. Old Enough To Bleed
11. Don’t Burn The Witch
12. In Nomine Satanas
13. Speedball
14. Chinese Whispers
15. Lost & Found
16. Gates Of Hell
17. Bared To The Bone
18. Love Is Infectious
19. My Girl
20. Dirty Trix Dept.
21. Messages Of War
22. Aphrodisiac
23. Fantasia
24. 1000 Days In Sodom
25. Rock N’ Roll Disease
26. Sexploitation
27. Boobytrap
28. Sweet Savage Sex
29. Hell To The Unknown
30. I’ll Be Back
31. Satanachist
32. Bad Reputation
33. Midnight Eye
34. Black Xmas
35. Calm Before The Storm
36. Gypsy
37. Krackin’ Up
38. Muscle
39. Nothing Sacred
40. The Chanting Of The Priests

Official Website: www.venomslegions.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.