“Heavy Metal Killers” by Various Artists

Artist: Various Artists
Title: “Heavy Metal Killers”
Label: Earache Records
Release Date: 2/19/2009
Genre: Thrash Metal
Rating: 4/5

“Heavy Metal Is The Law” are the words that you see blazing in front of your eyes when you take the booklet out of this supremely crushing CD compilation and as you begin to spin the disc this is a statement that you will no doubt agree with. Heavy Metal music was reaching a new level as the NWOBHM began to do its thing and these incredible years gave us the likes of Iron Maiden, Judas Priest and Saxon to name a few. The genre prospered and morphed over the years into more sub-genre than can easily be tallied and while a number of them were outstanding there was little representation of what came to be known as the “Old School” or “Traditional” vibe as the decades progressed. While I’m sure that bands were still delivering this sound in some fashion, the bands that were dominating the attention of the listeners were clearly the offshoots of this original style and it was high time for it to make a return. Over the last year we have seen a number of young upstarts delivering Thrash Metal again and with bands like Mantic Ritual, Black Tide and even Warbringer doing their thing for this classic style, could the original vibe be far behind. Thanks to the bands presented on “Heavy Metal Killers” I am happy to report that it is here and ready to impress. Let’s take a look at a few of the notable tracks on this great CD.

The album starts off with a bang as Powervice brings us back to the days of pre Bruce Dickinson Iron Maiden with dueling guitar harmonies and a vocalist who might just be the next Paul Dianno. They’ve recently signed to Earache so let’s see what a full disc brings to the table when it finally comes out. Cauldron was interesting and features members from the band Goat Horn while Portrait is today’s homage to the likes of Mercyful Fate and King Diamond. Celtic Legacy were interesting and despite the Folk tinged name, the band has a soaring lead vocalist that brings to mind the early days of Queensryche. Each of the bands has some biographical information about them in the provided booklet which also provides photos of the performers that are showcased. I had to say that I really enjoyed this release and felt it was a solid guide to the up and comers that Metal fans should be watching out for. I have already made a mental list of bands that I want to hear more about and I am sure that when you listen to this one that you shall feel the same way. As far as multi band compilations go that feature all new material, this one kept my interest from track one until thirteen and that is not an easy thing to do with this many new acts.

Track Listing:
1. Powervice – Behold The Hand Of Glory
2. White Wizard – High Speed GTO
3. Cauldron – Chained Up In Chains
4. Ram – Sudden Impact
5. Enforcer – Mistress Of Hell
6. H.O.D. – Kicked To The Kerb
7. Crowning Glory – Sea Of Dead Dreams
8. Portrait – A Thousand Nightmares
9. Celtic Legacy – Live By The Sword
10. Alltheniko – Feel The Power
11. Voltax – Steel Maker
12. In Solitude – Witches Sabbath
13. Cast Iron – Running From The Law

Official Website: http://www.earache.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.