“Graveyard Classics 2” by Six Feet Under

Artist: Six Feet Under
Title: “Graveyard Classics 2”
Label: Metal Blade Records
Release Date: 9/2004
Genre: Death Metal?
Rating: 1/10

I really did not know what to make of this piece when I first listened to it. I mean it is a track by track re-recording of the AC/DC Classic “Back In Black”, and then when the vocals come in it goes downhill. Knowing this happens a short minute after the original begins you know there is a lot of hill to roll down. Musically the CD is tight as it is an almost complete copy of the original record. It shows that the group is capable of playing more than their usual style of music which is indeed very heavy. It might have been a smart idea for the vocalist Chris Barnes to also try to use a different voice. It would serve better as an homage to the band in doing so.

I don’t know what the relevance of re-recording such a classic album in the way it was done will hold for this did not appeal to anyone I played it for. I did not want to be the sole opinion on this, and said maybe I was missing the boat somewhere. Everyone who heard it agreed the music was well done and then ruined when the singing kicked in. Steve Swanson, Greg Gall and Terry Butler do however a fine job of the playing of the tunes.

It is difficult to determine who will enjoy this CD. I think the only people who “might” like it are the die-hard fans of Six Feet Under (and these fans need to own everything the group releases). Classic rock fans of AC/DC will be insulted by this, as there is no need for a redo of an album that broke hard rock ground on its release. Death metal fans themselves might not enjoy it for it is not speeding fast or even relevant to their musical interests. I strongly suggest you play MP3 samples of it before you purchase it, you might thank me.

Track Listing:
1. Hell’s Bells
2. Shoot To Thrilll
3. What Do You Do For Money Honey
4. Given The Dog A Bone
5. Let Me Put My Love Into You
6. Back In Black
7. You Shook Me All Night Long
8. Have A Drink On Me
9. Shake A Leg
10. Rock And Roll Ain’t Noise Pollution

Official Website: www.sfu420.com

Editor’s Note: This article was written for another medium prior to the 2005 launch of PiercingMetal.com and has been added to our content for your enjoyment.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.