“Gold” (remaster) by KISS

Artist: KISS
Title: “Gold”
Label: Mercury/Universal
Release Date: 1/25/2005
Genre: Hard Rock
Rating: 8/10

When you look it up online there really seem to be a lot of KISS “Greatest Hits” albums to choose from. They start at “Double Platinum” and run until “Gold” and when tallied up there are nine such releases to choose from plus the career-encompassing boxed set. Included among this number are Mercury/Universal’s two different “Masters” collections and honestly those are more for the beginner or best served as gifts to those that are for some reason still clueless to the bands impact. With “Gold” however one is able to get a “cream of the crop” collection of the best material from self-titled “KISS” until their album “Killers” which is an import best-of that featured 4 new songs that many KISS fans have not had exposure to. Essentially more of an Anthology package the 40 songs presented here really do give both the KISS fan and the casual listener a great amount of music to enjoy. There are some differences between this and other hits releases by this one making sure that it not only features a handful of live recordings but also a track from each of the members solo releases. Overall this is a very well-rounded package and while it omits any music past the “Killers” album there really is a lot of music to sate ones appetite. “Gold” essentially becomes a worthy collection of music from the beginning in 1973 until 1982. Perhaps “More Gold” or “Gold 2” will see the light of day and give focus and attention to the fifteen albums that will come from the band.

Paying careful attention to the group’s visual nature there is a nice collection of band photos that I think will go over very well. There are a couple of the most famous shots in the bands history represented such as the Empire State Building shot and the Love Gun era photo that is often used. Historical information is also presented in the booklet that runs a total of 20 pages. There is also a detailed list of the musicians who performed on many of these songs which is interesting information for any musical historian to have. Overall it is an impressive packaging for a hits package.

I have to admit that I am a KISS purist and while I followed the band continually during their career I lean to the years that the original line up recorded and toured. Like many fans my very favorite songs come from this era and growing up during the years of their original release makes me say that this is a must have for any KISS fan. It’s even good for the KISS Collector who wants no gaps in their catalog and more important someone who only likes a defined number of hits rather than individual records. Given the growing popularity of buying music online I can see this item doing well via that medium as well. Check it out.

Track Listing:
1. Strutter
2. Nothin’ To Lose
3. Firehouse
4. Deuce
5. Black Diamond
6. Got To Choose
7. Parasite
8. Hotter Than Hell
9. C’mon And Love Me
10. She
11. Anything For My Baby
12. Rock Bottom (live)
13. Cold Gin (live)
14. Rock And Roll All Nite (live)
15. Let Me Go Rock ‘n Roll (live)
16. Detroit Rock City
17. King Of The Night Time World
18. Shout It Out Loud
19. Beth
20. Do You Love Me?
21. I Want You
22. Calling Dr. Love
23. Hard Luck Woman
24. I Stole Your Love
25. Love Gun
26. Christine Sixteen
27. Shock Me
28. Makin’ Love (live)
29. God Of Thunder (live)
30. Tonight You Belong To Me
31. New York Groove
32. Radioactive
33. Don’t You Let Me Down
34. I Was Made For Loving You
35. Sure Know Something
36. Shandi
37. Talk To Me
38. A World Without Heroes
39. Nowhere To Run
40. I’m A Legend Tonight

Official Web site: www.KISSonline.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.