“God’s Equation” by Pagan’s Mind

Artist: Pagan’s Mind
Title: “God’s Equation”
Label: Limb Music
Release Date: 11/9/2007
Genre: Progressive Metal
Rating: 4.5/5

If you are like me and only getting around to the band Pagan’s Mind with their fourth release then fear not because “God’s Equation” seems to be the perfect starting off point even though these guys have been at this for several years already. As soon as “God’s Equation” began I knew I was in for a treat and after a brief instrumental lead in track, “The Conception”, the band leads you into the overall premise and power that you will experience on every track of “God’s Equation”. The self-titled album track shows the band to be a perfect blend of Progressive and Melodic Metal styling with rich instrumentation and adventures behind a truly powerful lead vocal. Running at a healthy 7.56 minutes the tune does not get boring at all and when the choruses come in you find yourself humming them to yourself as the group delivers the goods. The band was founded by their singer Nils K. Rue, and at times his vocal powers remind the listener of a singer like Geoff Tate. His soaring high notes and deep low register ones make Rue one of the better singers I have heard in this genre of music and I am saddened to only have become aware of them in recent times. “United Alliance” is a track that I find “live concert hit” written allover based on its head-bopping riffs by Jorn Viggo Lofstad and great sing-along chorus. They hit you hard with the Groove Metal meets Thrash during “Atomic Fireflight” and while that kicked some serious ass they really impressed me with the next track “Hello Spaceboy”. For those unaware this is an old David Bowie track from 1995 and hearing it done up as a Metal tune not only showed the talents of Pagan’s Mind but further confirmed the absolute genius of a musician like David Bowie. His tune when done in Metal format lost none of its original appeal and even took on a new life when it came down to it.

The guys deliver enough technical expertise to please even the most stoic of Progressive fans during “Alien Kamikaze” and this one is a knock you down and toss you out at the last stop rollercoaster ride of riffs and speeding patterns. They also manage to slow things down a bit for “Painted Skies” which shows that it does not need to kill you with speed and wild display to be an appealing track. If there is anything that you can take from listening to this recording it’s that the band can sure play, and play very well to boot. The rest of the lineup features the talents of Steinar Krokmo (bass), Stian Kristoffersen (drums) and Ronny Tegner (keyboards) all world class musicians from a region of the world most commonly known for its crushing Black Metal. Perhaps a new Renaissance of Progressive Metal is stepping forth from Norway and if you like this stuff as much as I do, this is quite the welcome occurrence. The CD closes with a sweeping and epic number called “Osiris Triumphant Return” and clocking in at almost nine minutes it seems to take a little bit of everything that the guys did and presents it all in one lengthy musical exposition. There is a booklet included with the release that lines out the whole story behind “God’s Equation” and gives you lyrics for the songs. It even offers you a lot of band photos and a “story so far” about the group’s evolution. This is a great album for anyone who enjoys good Power and Progressive Metal for it not only employs all the expected things of such a genre, but it also delivers on some additional experimentation as well. Definitely for fans of bands like old Queensryche and early Fates Warning.

Track Listing:
1. The Conception
2. God’s Equation
3. United Alliance
4. Atomic Firelight
5. Hallo Spaceboy
6. Evolution Exceed
7. Alien Kamikaze
8. Painted Skies
9. Spirit Starcruiser
10. Farewell
11. Osiris Triumphant Return

Official Website: http://www.pagansmind.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.