“Give Me Your Soul….Please” by King Diamond

Artist: King Diamond
Title: “Give Me Your Soul….Please”
Label: Metal Blade Records
Release Date: 6/26/2007
Genre: Heavy Metal
Rating: 3.5/5

It’s been four years since he delivered the truly terrifying “Puppetmaster” and now the Master of Horror Metal is back with sinister purpose Yes King Diamond has returned with “Give Me Your Soul…Please”, an album that once again paints a dismal picture of mankind’s actions against one another and places the tale to energetic Heavy Metal music. The story this time around is that of two children who were brutally murdered by their father and while this sad occurrence is something that we read about far too frequently in today’s world, the King presents an even eerier twist on the horrific event. You see the deceased girl is trying to get her brothers soul into Heaven because he was wrongly sent to Hell. The only way that she can do this is by getting another one to replace his own and her perfect candidate for the not so cozy Underworld apartment is just as you guessed it – King Diamond’s immortal soul. It sounds like quite the tale and while it makes for some interesting reading as far as the lyrics go, I did not find myself as gripped by it as I was finding with “Puppetmaster”. That album sent chills through the spines of many Metal heads and had them squirming in their seats as they listened to every bone-chilling track.

Musically this is a very tight and clean production but seems to lack a bit of the rawness that King Diamond often possesses in his releases. This rawness I feel is necessary to the darkness that the singer likes to portray in his compositions and too clean can often be thought of as over-produced. The guitar work of Andy LaRoque and Mike Wead is as on the money as usual and this time around I felt we were finding the leads driving the songs much more than in the recent past. There are so many displays of technical guitar wizardry that its almost Power Metal. The King seems to be in good vocal form and continues his offering up of a number of different styles to add better emphasis to the story being that’s being presented. Its all tied together by the rhythm section very well as Hal Patino and Matt Johnson are in a lock from the moment the record begins. I have to admit that I felt the overall lineup was as strong as ever. While I enjoyed quite a few songs on the album I also have to say that nothing grabbed me as much as they did on the last one. The songs “Mirror, Mirror”, “Give Me Your Soul”, and “Never Ending Hill” were good and among my favorites from the release yet when compared to the likes of “Welcome Home” (from “Them”), “Blood To Walk” and “No More Me” (from “Puppetmaster”) they just didn’t measure up. I might be sounding a bit too fussy but I am admittedly only a small % of the King Diamond fan demographic.

I also felt that while the story was based on the premise of a terrible crime it was not as gripping as many of his others. Essentially there was a vicious murder, and now the ghost wanders about looking for a soul and that’s it. Despite my reservations on it I still feel that King Diamond is a master storyteller and I continually enjoy his ability to leave us ill at ease with every album he delivers. This is a good album but not an amazing one and might be more suitable for his most ardent supporters as opposed to a new fan who looks to expose his Metal mind to a little King. At the end of the day I was mostly happy that this wasn’t another cover album. There’s been so many released in the past year that I am ready to offer my soul to arrange to stop them. In closing I guess you are wondering whether or not the ghost of the murdered girl get what she deires from King Diamond, well you will just have to find out for yourself now won’t you.

Track Listing:
1. The Dead
2. Never Ending Hill
3. Is Anybody Here?
4. Black Of Night
5. Mirror Mirror
6. The Cellar
7. Pictures In Red
8. Give Me Your Soul
9. The Floating Head
10. Cold As Ice
11. Shapes Of Black
12. The Girl In The Bloody Dress
13. Moving On

Official Website: http://www.kingdiamondcoven.com/site/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.