“Ghouls Gone Wild” by Various Artists

Artist: Various
Title: Ghouls Gone Wild
Label: Poptown Records
Release Date: August 13, 2007
Genre: Horror Punk, Rockabilly, You Name It
Rating: 4/5

This seventeen-track compilation can’t be easily pigeonholed into one genre category, but each tune is somehow horror-related and all are a coffinload of fun. Horror rock compilations are a dime a dozen and there are several that blow this one out of the water, but the sheer variety of sounds and tone here save the day, as well as the contrast of old stalwarts such as the Voluptuous Horror of Karen Black and Electric Frankenstein against She Wolves and Calabrese. Perfect for your Halloween party dance floor, this one’s just a stone hoot, especially the Voluptuous Horror of Karen Black’s classic “You Sley Me,” and the Groovie Ghoulies’ (not the cartoon characters) hilarious “The Beast With Five Hands.” It’s by no means perfect, but if you like this kind of stuff you won’t be disappointed.

Track Listing:
1. Tear It Down – Electric Frankenstein
2. You Sley Me – The Voluptuous Horror of Karen Black
3. Devil Woman from Outer Space – Rezurex
4. Redneck Zombies – PsychoCharger
5. Thunderbolt Theme – J.P. “Thunderbolt” Patterson, Ross the Boss, Thunderbolt Patterson
6. Black Haired Girl – The Scared Stiffs
7. Beast with Five Hands – The Groovie Ghoulies
8. Hyde Inside – The Other
9. Sandbox Jungle – Helios Creed,
10. Luv the One Ya Whip – Krissteen
11. Desire – She Wolves
12. Phantasmagoria – Calabrese
13. Aileen – Three Merry Widows
14. Pissed in Hell – The Mugshots
15. Zombie Car Chase – The Young Werewolves
16. City of People – Frankenstein
17. Howling at the Moon – Bernie Tormé

Official Website: http://www.poptownrecords.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.