“Gemini” by Lana Lane

Artist: Lana Lane
Title: “Gemini”
Label: Think Tank Media
Release Date: 1/30/2007
Genre: Hard Rock
Rating: 4/5

Following in her tradition of every so often releasing a specialty album, the Symphonic siren Lana Lane delivers some of her favorite Classic Rock numbers on her latest album “Gemini”. This album takes the music from the 60’s and 70’s and combines her own style in a very respective fashion along with an All-Star cast of performers that includes Vinny Appice, Kelly Keeling, George Lynch, Tony Franklin, Mark McCrite and Eric Norlander (her Husband). Together the group allows Lana to breathe new life into music that is still relevant in today’s world and rightfully so as these are more than mere tunes and instead legendary music of a generation passed. Lane has an incredible voice, and closely resembles Ann Wilson from Heart which makes her dead on for those particular numbers on the album. She called the record “Gemini” and it serves a twofold purpose as it’s also her second album of cover material. To make it more interesting, there are also two songs from each of the included bands – Pink Floyd, Heart, Cream, Foreigner, Moody Blues and Jefferson Airplane each get the chance to have two of their numbers performed by the singer.

Her take on these iconic staples like “White Room”, “White Rabbit” and the excellent “Dark Side Of The Moon” segment makes this a great release for a wider audience to appreciate. It is my hope that Lane can inspire new generations of listeners with her own versions and have these listeners seeking out the originals as part of their own music education. What I liked most about the album is there was very little reworking done and instead the songs were pretty much done as they were originally performed. The band sounded fantastic on the release, and while you expect levels of quality from Norlander on any of his projects he and Lana are truly complimented by the skills of these players who have over the course of their careers been a part of Blue Murder, Dio and Dokken.

This CD is a recommendation for any fan of female fronted Metal and Hard Rock, as Lane does NOT sing in the growling style or super operatic fashion on this album. It allows her to stand apart from the bands that have that type of musician fronting their band. Lana’s voice is pure, melodic and excellent. This is a fun recording to listen to and while I plan on digging into her back catalog some more, I cannot wait for the next round of covers she brings to the table.

Track Listing:
1. In A White Room
2. White Rabbit
3. Long, Long Way From Home
4. You Can Never Go Home
5. Breathe Introduction
6. Johnny Moon
7. Breathe In The Air
8. On The Run
9. Time
10. Breathe Reprise
11. Dream Of The Archer
12. Starrider
13. Sunshine Of Your Love
14. Wooden Ships
15. Nights In White Satin

Official Website: www.lanalane.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.