Full Nominees Of The 2017 Alternative Press Music Awards

alternative press music awards logo

Hello my friends, its once again time to reveal the list of nominees for the Alternative Press Music Awards which also go by the APMAS in case you are following #hashtags out there on the Interwebs. I’ve been sharing this information for a couple of years now and its a blast to offer it up. With this years awards there are also two brand new categories and those are “Best New Artist Video” and “Best Hard Rock Artist”. Let’s take a look down below and when its all said and done I will add the voting link and offer up my own music scribe pontifications.

Best Vocalist:
Ben Barlow, Neck Deep
Cody Carson, Set It Off
Derek Discanio, State Champs
John O’callaghan, The Maine
Keith Buckley, Every Time I Die
Lynn Gunn, Pvris

Best Drummer Presented By Guitar Center, Remo and SJC Drums:
Arejay Hale, Halestorm
Aric Improta, Night Verses
Dean Butterworth, Good Charlotte
Frank Zummo, Sum 41
Matt Mingus, Dance Gavin Dance
Jp “Rook” Cappelletty, Machine Gun Kelly

Best Bassist:
Alex Dean, Architects U.K.
Chris Hinkley, I The Mighty
Fat Mike, Nofx
“Fieldy” Arvizu, Korn
Ryan Scott Graham, State Champs
Sergio Vega, Deftones

Best Guitarist Presented By PRS Guitars:
Ben Weinman, The Dillinger Escape Plan
Claudio Sanchez, Coheed And Cambria
Jordan Buckley, Every Time I Die
Reba Meyers, Code Orange
Steve Menoian, I Prevail
Teppei Teranishi, Thrice

Most Dedicated Fanbase Presented By Fearless Records:
Melanie Martinez
Motionless In White
Sleeping With Sirens
Twenty One Pilots

Song Of The Year Presented By Epitaph Records:
A Day To Remember, “Paranoia”
Andy Black, “We Don’t Have To Dance”
Pierce The Veil, “Circles”
Machine Gun Kelly, “Alpha Omega”
Real Friends, “Mess”
Waterparks, “Stupid For You”

Best Underground Band:
Knocked Loose
Palaye Royale
Silent Planet
With Confidence

Best Breakthrough Band Presented By SharpTone Records:
Ice Nine Kills
Moose Blood
One Ok Rock

Best Hard Rock Artist Presented By Metal Blade Records and Blacklight Media:
Bullet For My Valentine
Highly Suspect
In This Moment
The Pretty Reckless

Best Live Band:
Dance Gavin Dance
Falling In Reverse
In This Moment

Best Music Video Presented By Journeys:
Highly Suspect, “Bloodfeather”
I See Stars, “Calm Snow”
Korn, “Insane”
Memphis May Fire, “This Light I Hold” (Featuring Jacoby Shaddix)
State Champs, “Losing Myself”
Sum 41, “Fake My Own Death”

Best New Artist Music Video Presented By Journeys:
K.Flay, “Blood In The Cut”
Pup, “Sleep In The Heat”
Swmrs, “Palm Trees”
Tiny Moving Parts, “Common Cold”
Watsky, “Don’t Be Nice”
With Confidence, “Voldemort”

Artist Of The Year:
A Day To Remember
Fall Out Boy
Good Charlotte
Green Day
Machine Gun Kelly
Panic! At The Disco
Pierce The Veil
Sum 41
The Pretty Reckless

Album Of The Year Presented By Journeys:
Andy Black, The Shadow Side
Tonight Alive, Limitless
Architects U.K., All Our Gods Have Abandoned Us
Attila, Chaos
Beartooth, Aggressive
Every Time I Die, Low Teens
I Prevail, Lifelines
Moose Blood, Blush
Pierce The Veil, Misadventures
Waterparks, Double Dare

*** end of list ***

PiercingMetal Thoughts: So in looking at this years nominees there are quite a few that I follow and quite a few that I have only heard the name of so I will not opine about every single category. Here are a few that I’d like to see win the trophy. Keith Buckley as Best Vocalist, Arjay Hale for Best Drummer, Fieldy for Best Bassist and “We Don’t Have To Dance” by Andy Black for Song Of The Year. I’d toss a coin for Best Guitarist as Claudio from Coheed and Ben from Dillinger are both kick ass. I’d also like to see Avatar win Best Breakthrough Artist since they are rather unique to the mix and a lot of fun. The rest you’ll have to just wonder into the night about my picks and deal with it 🙂 Don’t forget to click HERE so you can chime in your own choices on who you want to win out and you have until the end of June to do so. Make it count my friends and as we close up I wonder if you think the nomination list was on point or did it leave some notables out that you are incensed about. Let me know.

Official Website: http://www.altpress.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.