“From Wishes To Eternity” [DVD] by Nightwish

Artist: Nightwish
Title: “From Wishes To Eternity”
Label: MSI Music Corp.
Release Date: 3/13/2000
Genre: Operatic Power Metal
Rating: 10/10

I was lucky enough to see this DVD in one of my very favorite Metal CD Music Stores out in New Jersey. You see, I had heard Nightwish at a Friends place where some music had been downloaded. Yes, I know this is bad, but I had nothing to do with it. Anyway, I instantly fell in love with what I was hearing and of course when I realized that this band was from Finland I knew I could count on never ever getting to see them play live in my area. As a fan of live video DVD’s I enjoyed this one a little more than others as it had more of a feel of being at the concert. One could appreciate the lighting and pyrotechnics as well as the full stage setup that they use. There were frequent pans from the back sections as well as many great close ups of the beautiful Tarja and her bandmates (Tuomas, Jukka, Emppu and Marco …..keyboards, drums, guitar and bass respectively).

The performance on this video starts off with ‘The Kinslayer’ and this is a number that kicks a Nightwish set into gear very well. When ‘Beauty And The Beast’ is performed the group is joined by Tony Kakko of Sonata Arctica. This is a special treat for fans as the bands are very close in their native lands. Overall the whole sound is best listened to through ones stereo and it is very easy to find favorable numbers that will make you seek out Nightwish music.

At the close of the live concert, the announcer comes out and presents the band with record achievement awards. I don’t know which one specifically because he was speaking Finnish. This is the very 1st DVD by Nightwish and according to reports a second one will be made available very soon. I give this the highest of recommendations for I continually find myself playing it when the need for solid metal mastery comes to my mind. You will most certainly find copies of this on Amazon.com .

Track Listing:
1. The Kinslayer
2. She Is My Sin
3. Deep Silent Complete
4. The Pharoah Sails To Orion
5. Come Cover Me
6. Wanderlust
7. Crimson Tide/Deep Blue Sea
8. Swanheart
9. Elvenpath
10. Fantasmic part 3
11. Dead Boy’s Poem
12. Sacrament Of Wilderness
13. Walking In The Air
14. Beauty & The Beast
15. Wishmaster

Bonus Features; There is an amazing amount of bonus features on this DVD. It makes it all the more a valued purchase: Interviews with Tarja Turunen & Tuomas, Videos of “Carpenter” & “Sleeping Sun”, Live “Kinslayer” (Buenos Aires) & “Walking In The Air” (Montreal), Photo Gallery & Discography, Off-stage footage.

Footnote: When I had originally written this review it was at a time that the band had never been to the States. Since then I was able to catch them at L’Amour’s in New York before it had closed down. Fans who have not seen them yet will appreciate that they are every bit as good in concert as this DVD would have you believe. As final edits were done on this review, the news of the CD release of this concert came out as well as the news that Nightwish would be returning again to the United States. Watch for a review of these shows on these very pages. Make sure you get to see them when they hit your town, as it is a decision you shall not regret.

Official Website: www.nightwish.com

Editor’s Note: This article was written for another medium prior to the 2005 launch of PiercingMetal.com and has been added to our content for your enjoyment.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.