“Flight 666” [DVD] by Iron Maiden

Artist: Iron Maiden
Title: “Flight 666”
Label: Universal Music
Release Date: 6/9/2009
Genre: Heavy Metal
Rating: 4.5/5

What do you do when you’re a band like Iron Maiden and you are told by the people who handle your affairs that you cannot get to a particular part of the world based on either the incredible costs involved or the equally daunting logistics of such an adventure? The answer is very simple – you start by getting yourselves an airplane, modify it to suit the needs of the group and their gear and then map out a tour that will hit all of the places you were hearing just could not be visited. Such a premise sounds like an interesting movie doesn’t it? Well lucky for us that the guys in Iron Maiden decided to not only deliver the story behind this whole idea as a documentary but they would also give us a full on Heavy Metal concert as well. This is a fascinating film because it just goes to show you how innovative one can be if they put their mind to it. The footage of the documentary was captured by Sam Dunn and his team who had given us the “Headbanger’s Journey” & “Global Metal” films. Together they would capture the full tour which spanned the course of 45 days and covered five continents. I had to say that I admired the bands ingenuity as they took a conventional passenger airplane and modified it to be one part tour bus and the rest fashioned to safely bring their whole stage setup with them to whatever destination that they chose to go. The other interesting factor in this was that the plane would be piloted by the bands singer Bruce Dickinson who is a licensed pilot. Fans will get a big kick out of seeing Bruce greet his fellow band members and crew as the pilot and wishing them a comfortable flight and then its off to the cabin with him to get that bird in the air. We see during the documentary how the plane was refitted to maintain the gear and stage and how much fun the crew members and group are having when they only need to get into their seats and can rest as opposed to driving from place to place on buses or trains. During the documentary itself we find a number of the songs from the show being presented but we don’t get the whole of the gigs on this DVD, and instead need to wait for the second one to enjoy that. I really think that the fans will enjoy this one because it is just too different from the usual concert film. We see the band in India performing to a completely new audience and in places like Japan, South America and back to the USA and one thing we can take from it all is no matter where Iron Maiden goes, they win over the hearts and respect of Metal fans everywhere. The faces and cultures might be vastly different but when it comes to the love of Iron Maiden we are all very much the same. I found myself replaying the documentary after I enjoyed the full concert DVD and I think that you might do the same. Now let’s discuss the DVD that gives you this show.

DVD2: The Whole Set Live: I have to say that if you were one of the Metal heads that missed out on the “Somewhere Back In Time” World Tour that Iron Maiden had embarked on then I really feel bad for you. I say this based on the fact that this was perhaps the best show that I had seen in a very long time and I am someone who sees quite a few shows. The band was excellent in terms of their execution and delivery of these classic numbers and audiences all around the world would leave the shows without any energy whatsoever. Watching the show as a whole which is compiled from various points around the world makes for a thrilling ride as we get to see just how excited the worlds Metal maniacs get when they are attending a show. The US fans will find themselves feeling the need to up their game when they see just how insane the fans in India and South America get. The concert itself followed the format of the bands original “Powerslave” tour and while it features a number of songs on the “Life After Death” DVD, it changed things around to include a couple of albums that followed that legendary epic in order to give a more comprehensive experience to their fans. There are many highlights to enjoy as the band shows no sign of slowing down and in the end actually seem better than ever. Every tune is attacked with perfection and none of the bands members are anything less than energetic as they deliver the goods around the world. From the 23 shows that were done we get a set of 16 tunes that will keep you lively from beginning to end. One of the songs delivered is “Rime Of The Ancient Mariner” which was filmed at the Izod Center in NJ. My friends and I attended that show and I wrote about it on the link you can find HERE. It was a show that left us all breathless and when you consider this band has been at it for over thirty years well it just impresses you all the more.

The DVD comes in two different versions and while we were reviewing the standard edition, there is also a deluxe type that gives the buyer a more comprehensive booklet inside. The standard copy gives you a booklet as well, but that is only eight pages and of them only two pages are photos while the rest is text that comprises of track listing, band thanks and production crew names. Depending on what you need from your copy of the film, it’s up to you to decide whether the standard or deluxe edition feeds your Maiden need the best. Personally I am a stickler for the super booklets with all the information and extra photos so I will most likely still try to get myself a copy of that version. A double CD of the concert portion of the film is also available and by snaring a copy of that you will be able to load the show onto your music player and take it wherever you go. This is nothing less than a must have for ones Metal collection so “Up The Irons”.

Track Listing DVD2:
1. Churchill’s Speech
2. Aces High
3. 2 Minutes To Midnight
4. Revelations
5. The Trooper
6. Wasted Years
7. The Number Of The Beast
8. Can I Play With Madness
9. Rime Of The Ancient Mariner
10. Powerslave
11. Heaven Can Wait
12. Run To The Hills
13. Fear Of The Dark
14. Iron Maiden
15. Moonchild
16. The Clairvoyant
17. Hallowed Be They Name

Official Website: http://www.ironmaiden.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.