“Flesh & Blood” (remaster) by Poison

Artist: Poison
Title: “Flesh & Blood” (remaster)
Label: EMI Music/Capitol Records
Release Date: 8/1/2006
Genre: Hard Rock
Rating: 4/5

To celebrate the bands 20th Anniversary Poison released a rousing collection of their greatest hits with “The Best Of Poison: 20 Years Of Rock”. A tour soon followed and now the party continues with the release of their first three albums in remastered format. Deluxe packaging and artwork as well as previously unreleased tracks are included for the listener to enjoy as well.

By now if you were not a Poison fan there was no chance that you would have grabbed this album and despite my reservations on one or two songs there is a lot of great music on this one. “Valley Of Lost Souls” is pretty good but “Ride The Wind” and “Let It Play” are just among the most stand out and mature tracks that the band had released thus far. The ballads were once again present in “Life Goes On” and “Something To Believe In”, but the latter had much more of an impact as the song was written after a close personal friend of the band members had died. “Sacrifice” was also a worthy track but it seemed the most radio and video play would go to “Unskinny Bop”, a ridiculous yet catchy number that to this day I still have no idea what they were talking about. The year for this album was 1991 and like most bands Poison also had the in-fighting and abuse problems that come with being in a traveling Rock band. Music was also changing as the Seattle sound was looking slowly over the horizon and ready to stake claim on the young audiences in every city. Sadly, this in-fighting led to a knock down brawl between C.C. and Michaels who had just performed on an MTV Awards show. Moments after the fracas, the guitarist left the band and would not return for a number of years and albums later.

This is a good release to check out more for its music than the other two and is especially recommended for the casual fan that might be put off a little by the level of pomp and haircumstance that the earlier releases were loaded with.

Track Listing:
1. Strange Days Of Uncle Jack
2. Valley Of Lost Souls
3. (Flesh & Blood) Sacrifice
4. Swampjuice (Soul-O)
5. Unskinny Bop
6. Let It Play
7. Life Goes On
8. Come Hell Of High Water
9. Ride The Wind
10. Don’t Give Up An Inch
11. Something To Believe In
12. Ball And Chain
13. Life Loves A Tragedy
14. Poor Boy Blues
15. Something To Believe In – acoustic
16. God Save The Queen – instrumental demo

Official Website: www.poisonweb.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.