“F**k It, We’ll Do It Live” by Wednesday 13

Artist: Wednesday 13
Title: “F**k It, We’ll Do It Live”
Label: Independent Artist
Release Date: 12/13/2008
Genre: Horror Punk
Rating: 4/5

His fans have been screaming bloody murder for a proper live DVD for a couple of years now and “F**k It, We’ll Do It Live” is the answer to their morbid dreams. I’ve been happy to have been a fan of what Wednesday 13 does with his band after catching him on what appears to be every recent regional appearance since about 2006. Now while that’s not really a long time in the larger scheme of things it is enough to have seen shows that addressed every single one of his solo albums – and that made the release of this CD/DVD package something very special for me. The singer/guitarist wanders the musical landscape like a modern day Alice Cooper and his material while quirky and campy at many points is also one that offers up some serious inner perspective on his views about life from time to time as well. The show was filmed and recorded at Crocodile Rock in Allentown, PA and was done during the touring for his “Skeletons” CD. The CD was a much darker offering than his campy “Fang Bang”, which is a real homage to the movie monsters and many other things that go bump in the night. “Skeletons” was cited by Wednesday as being his most personal record as well and we found that on the albums title track most specifically. The show snares his band in a noose and doesn’t let them go as they execute each number with skill and the look of having a whole lot of fun. There are usually a lot of visual antics going on and since this was the first go round of Wednesday being able to sling the guitar on again, there would be a little less of the props employed than before but it was still a sinfully good time.

The set is a vast one and rather than focus exclusively on the new album, he goes back in time to touch upon his previous releases which not only manages to keep the audience engaged but also singing along to the songs that they knew very well. The great thing about the film is that it shows just how energetic the whole band is during a show and not only Wednesday is getting into it, but also guitarist J-Sin Trioxin, bassist Nate Hate and drummer Johnny Chops are very mobile during number after number. Everyone in the band sings along with Wednesday during the choruses and that makes tracks like “Till Death Do Us Party” and “Rambo” all the more fun in concert. Mr. 13 talks to the audience quite a bit and lets them know that they are being filmed and that this was all the more reason to be screaming and singing and just all out going crazy. The audience reaction to him live is no act and I am able to confirm this after being at several shows as I had referenced earlier. There is a guest appearance by Friday the 13th’s Jason who frequently pops up during a show for “TDDUP” but we would not see the werewolf or zombie for this show since those tunes that make mention of them were not done during the show that this recording comes from. I really had to say that I enjoyed this release because it also provided an audio CD for one to take along with them in the car or to load up on their music player. All eighteen tunes on the DVD are on the CD so you don’t lose anything and while I would have liked to find a couple of other tunes included, I could not fault him for delivering a slightly different set from the last time we caught a show. The visuals are great and while at times the audio is not 100 percent from the band, we get to know that they were under the weather during the show and had all come down with something. Despite this minor critique, I hardly noticed more than just a little rawness every now and again. If you have heard Wednesday 13’s tunes already and not seen him perform you should know that they are much heavier in the live sense and that their songs come across very well on the stage. There is a healthy booklet provided that is loaded with photos of the boys in action and it’s the perfect thing to buy at a show and hope to have the band sign for you. They often do meet and greets at their shows and I have witnessed this happening as well and that further cements the connection between artist and fan.

Wednesday 13 and Company performed in my area about a week after this concert was recorded and should you want to enjoy some photos from that show please click the following link.


This is a high recommendation since it’s the first proper DVD of its kind that captures him doing what he does best. Let’s hope that he is able to do another one as time goes forward to give the fans some more of his unique music and fun.

Track Listing:
1. Gimme Gimme Bloodshed
2. I Want You….Dead
3. My Home Sweet Homicide
4. Not Another Teenage Anthem
5. From Here To The Hearse
6. Till Death Do Us Party
7. Skeletons
8. God Is A Lie
9. House By The Cemetery
10. Put Your Death Mask On
11. Happily Ever Cadaver
12. Runnin’ Down A Dream
13. Look What The Bats Dragged In
14. Faith In The Devil
15. 197666
16. Rambo
17. Bad Things
18. I Love To Say Fuck

Official Website: http://officialwednesday13.com/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.