“Endless War” (re-issue) by Realm

Artist: Realm
Title: “Endless War”
Label: Metal Mind Productions
Release Date: 11/9/2006
Genre: Thrash Metal
Rating: 4/5

As part of a multi-album licensing deal with Roadrunner Records, Metal Mind Productions continues to release legendary pieces from Metal’s history. Part of the catalog being presented is this release by the band Realm.

The album “Endless War” by Realm was originally released in 1988 and is really a classic piece of molten Thrash Metal. There was a lot more going on here than most of the other bands who were doing this type of Speed Metal at the time and it really gave fans of Technical Speed riffing and drums their fill. Some of the blazing speeds found here can be best found in bands of today like Dragonforce or Cellador. Of the number of interesting tracks available here they became legendary and most-known for their blistering rendition of the Beatles classic “Eleanor Rigby”. It is a really unique take on the original, and while it might have infuriated some Beatles purists, I like to think that it also turned some younger Metal heads on to the band. Stranger things have happened in life. The five member group was made up of Mark Antoni (vocals), Mike Olson (drums), Steve Post (bass), Paul Laganowski (guitar) and Takis Kinis (guitar) – and all of them showed tremendous amounts of musical skills across the recording. Antoni had a shriek like a banshee and the guitar pair of Laganowski and Kinis showed that Thrash Metal had additional promise as elements of Progressive were mixed in for good measure.

The syncopation and off-time signatures on “All Heads Will Turn To The Hunt” show that this band would be ahead of their time. The remaster includes historical information that brings you up to speed on the group as well as lyrics and photos. There is a bonus track to enjoy as well which is strong on the harmonies and a great closer to this special CD. Sadly, the Grunge movement was imminent at this time and the band would fade into obscurity as result not long after their second album “Suiciety”. The remasters from MMP offer the chance to relive the majesty of Realm once again and remind us of a simpler Metal time when the lines were not as vague to the listener and you either brought it, or you sucked. Realm very clearly brought it.

Track Listing:
1. Endless War
2. Slay The Oppressor
3. Eminence
4. Fate’s Wind
5. Root Of Evil
6. Eleanor Rigby
7. The House Is Burning
8. Second Coming
9. All Heads Will Turn To The Hunt
10. Mang
11. Poisoned Minds
12. Theseus And The Minotaur – bonus

Official Website:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.