“Dressed To Kill” (remaster) by KISS

Artist: KISS
Title: “Dressed To Kill” (remaster)
Label: Mercury/Universal
Release Date: 7/15/1997
Genre: Hard Rock
Rating: 8/10

The third album by KISS would be the one that found the band in desperate need of a hit. Their shows were consistent sellouts by this point in 1975 but despite this fact – the albums were not selling well at all. “KISS” and “Hotter Than Hell” showed people what KISS was all about but for some reason the world at large was still unaware and the sales showed this in black and white. “Dressed To Kill” would be a finely polished Rock recording with tunes such as “C’mon And Love Me” and “Room Service” but the group would find this single with the albums closer. After giving you some catchy numbers, it would lay you out with the coupe-de-grace. It was a song that would become the Anthem that would define the band and it has stood strong in the world of music for decades; the song was “Rock And Roll All Nite”. The track itself seemed simple and its lyrical content was right to the point about their life and desires as they aimed for world domination. There was a high level of appeal in the driving beat of the song but its chorus would especially be memorable based on its easy to sing-along with composition. This track would become the signature track for KISS and the soon to be recorded “Alive” release would set the world on its ear and make KISS a household name. Other songs of note are “Rock Bottom” with its amazing and calm intro before a bombast of Rock power and “She” which has some ripping guitar work and primal drive to it. This is a recommended release more so than “Hotter Than Hell” in my KISS book.

The KISS remasters are excellent in their overall sound quality but do not offer any additional or unreleased songs outside of what was on the original album. The original artwork is replicated and features the interesting graphics that often made up a KISS Album. If the artwork was limited, this is of course reflected as well. Music History fans will appreciate the included historical liner notes on the CD’s inner section. Each release has information that is topical to the album and the bands history.

Track Listing:
1. Room Service
2. Two Timer
3. Ladies In Waiting
4. Getaway
5. Rock Bottom
6. C’mon And Love Me
7. Anything For My Baby
8. She
9. Love Her All I Can
10. Rock And Roll All Nite

Official Web site: www.KISSonline.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.