“Disasterpieces” by Slipknot

Artist: Slipknot
Title: “Disasterpieces”
Label: Roadrunner Records
Release Date: 11/26/2002
Genre: Heavy Metal
Rating: 8/10

Slipknot is definitely one of those bands that in all honesty is best seen as well as heard. If you find yourself simply listening to the CD and have no idea what the band image is all about you might not capture the point. Quite honestly I was not a big fan of their music at first since I lean more towards the traditional genre. Yet when I saw this concert DVD I knew that this was a band that I had to see in person. This double DVD Set delivers all of the intensity and antics that you can enjoy outside of the pit and in your own home. There are some unique camera angles done as well as some footage being shot from inside the masks of the Slipknot members. The show was filmed with 30 cameras at the London Arena to a sold out crowd. To define a Slipknot show as live chaos would be an understatement but I think it comes very close to that for when they hit the stage it is explosive. The eight member group are all over the place from the start and I honestly cant imagine how a band like this rehearses and gets the show down to a science. They just simply do it and feed off the audience. Singer Corey directs the swelling crowd who hang on his commands while the maniacal Sid works his magic on the DJ Tables. Ordinarily I find all these bands with DJ’s to be unnecessary yet Slipknot show you that it can work in some context. There is a very interesting solo by Sid which is as non-conventional as the band themselves. The sound quality and visuals remain at a constant throughout the whole DVD. It is actually difficult at times to follow what is going on, since so much is happening at the same time.

Another interesting solo to experience is the drumming power of Joey Jordison. His technique and stamina are to be commended as with lightning speed he executes a drum solo that expands upon the stage antics first started by Tommy Lee (Motley Crue). The DVD Set also includes the bands videos that were released up to this time and features a large amount of backstage and rehearsal footage. As the group wears masks on stage, any images of them without them are blurred to protect their identities. This DVD is affordable and comes in a nice slim case. It’s a high recommendation for the diehard fan as well as the curious and unaware. It is a DVD that will not leave you the same as when you began. Don’t be “Left Behind” from witnessing this “Disasterpiece”.

Track Listing (Live Concert):
1. People = Shit
2. Liberate
3. Left Behind
4. Eeyore
5. Disasterpiece
6. Purity
7. Gently
8. Eyeless
9. My Plague
10. New Abortion
11. The Heretic Anthem
12. Spit It Out
13. Wait And Bleed
14. (SIC)
15. Surfacing

Track Listing (Videos):
1. My Plague
2. Left Behind (Director’s Cut)
3. Wait And Bleed
4. Wait And Bleed (Animated)
5. Spit It Out

Official Web site: http://www.slipknot1.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.