“Dirty Rotten Filthy Stinking Rich” (remaster) by Warrant

Artist: Warrant
Title: “Dirty Rotten Filthy Stinking Rich”
Label: Sony Music
Release Date: 4/13/2004
Genre: Hard Rock
Rating: 7/10

In the 1980’s the “Glam Metal” or “Hair Metal” movement was in full swing. Bands like Poison, Tuff, Pretty Boy Floyd and Warrant brought a glitzier and sleazier aspect to Hard Rock music. It made fans of true Metal like Judas Priest, Black Sabbath and Iron Maiden run to the hills (no pun intended). The music of Warrant was not something that appealed to me but if you watched MTV on regular occasion you would find that this did not matter at all nor did it affect the bands success. However you felt at the time when one looks back on the re-issue and remaster of this album from 1989 you will find several good hard rocking numbers. Warrant exemplified over-indulgence with their new found fame and in their music they sang about it while in the process winning over the hearts of millions of girls. Lead singer Jani Lane was a good looking front man who fell perfectly along with that of Brett Michaels (Poison) and Stephen Pearcy (Ratt). His personality brought a level of impact to the things that the boys were singing about. They were young , successful and were playing some really great places in a very short amount of time. One would think that “over the top luxury metal” should have been the label rather than Glam Rock. It was a real sign of the times on how Rock was heading in a fun direction but a few short years after this would face an abrupt end at the hands of Nirvana and Alice In Chains. These bands brought the darker and more depressing side to music at the onset of the Grunge movement. Bands like Warrant were kicked aside when this move happened and while some might have felt it a good thing they changed their tune when it seemed that every musician in a flannel shirt was finding their way to a recording deal.

Sony Music chose to re-master the first two Warrant albums and not only clean up the production very well but also offer you as the listener two bonus tracks that were unheard until now. I compared my Friends original copies to my remaster and can say that they did a really good job on them. Songs such as “Heaven” and “Down Boys” spring to life once again and hold a fresher sound than you had been given when the CD was originally released. These editions are more for the die-hard 80’s fan or Warrant fanatic who would like to toss those old cassettes away and replace them with a clean copy. There is a booklet included and while no lyrics are present for “DRFSR” there are some good photos and an essay about the state of music when the band was on the rise. Being older now and more tolerant of different styles than I was in my youth I enjoyed the chance to re-listen and take things from a different view. I felt this re-issue offers a good chance to revisit that 80’s vibe that once existed and music archivists will also appreciate that. Some of Warrants tracks are very relevant today and in that this is worth looking into even almost 15 years after the initial release.

Track Listing:
1. 32 Pennies
2. Down Boys
3. Big Talk
4. Sometimes She Cries
5. So Damn Pretty (Should Be Against The Law)
6. D.R.F.S.R.
7. In The Sticks
8. Heaven
9. Ridin’ High
10. Cold Sweat
11. Only A Man (demo) – bonus
12. All Night Long (demo) – bonus

Official Web site: http://www.warrantweb.net/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.