“Devil’s Got A New Disguise: Very Best Of Aerosmith” by Aerosmith

Artist: Aerosmith
Title: “Devil’s Got A New Disguise: Very Best Of Aerosmith”
Label: Columbia Records
Release Date: 10/17/2006
Genre: Rock
Rating: 2.5/5

As someone who loves the music of Aerosmith as much as I do, it almost pains me to find myself needing to write a less than stellar review of a “Best Of” collection of their material. However the decision is a very simple one with this release for it is nothing more than a teaser piece that features some of the bands best work. Statistically speaking, it seems that the only band with more greatest hits packages in their catalog would be KISS, but Aerosmith holds a very close second to the masked men and with “Devil’s Got A New Disguise” they move ever closer to the title. You have to wonder why so many get issued with so many of the same songs even though they attempt to mix it up by swapping some things around. The process guarantees your never able to remove the older best of from your collection to replace with a shiny new one, and instead are just stacking them all together. They also sometimes feature a couple of new tracks which unless they are absolutely killer, leave you wishing they had simply included another of the favored tracks instead of literally forcing new material on you that you did not want. This best of starts out ok, but don’t look for the classic “Walk This Way”, as you get the Run DMC team-up here, and if you hated that one it might not win you over yet. A fair number of their ballads and hold your partner tight songs are present but where is “Angel”? The new selections that close the CD are ok at best with “Sedona” being a more blues-based ballad track while “Disguise” is a hard grooving rocker that might appeal to people who decide on this release. The enclosed booklet has some good archive photos but nothing really unseen before. Unless you are an absolute fanatic, I would pass on this one and instead go look for a copy of “Oh Yeah”, a double CD collection that really gives the fan their money’s worth.

Track Listing:
1. Dream On
2. Mama Kin
3. Sweet Emotion
4. Back In The Saddle
5. Last Child
6. Walk This Way
7. Dude (Looks Like A Lady)
8. Rag Doll
9. Love In An Elevator
10. Janie’s Got A Gun
11. What It Takes
12. Crazy
13. Livin’ On The Edge
14. Cryin’
15. I Don’t Want To Miss A Thing
16. Jaded
17. Sedona Sunrise
18. Devil’s Got A New Disguise

Official Website: www.aerosmith.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.