“Dark Light” by HIM

Artist: H.I.M.
Title: “Dark Light”
Label: Sire Records
Release Date: 9/27/2005
Genre: Gothic/Melodic Metal
Rating: 7/10

Finland’s H.I.M. certainly seem to be making a dent in the American music world and this is no surprise when one considers the overall appeal and quality of some of their songs. Thanks to the efforts of MTV’s Bam Marguera the bands logo or “Heartagram” is no longer a mysterious image as he showcases it regularly on his program “Viva LaBam”. Though the band has been around for some ten years it was only recently that the American listener was able to purchase their music domestically and now with the release of “Dark Light” this growing audience got to experience a brand new album on its actual release date. The last two albums that surfaced early this year in “Love Metal” and “Deep Shadows and Brilliant Highlights” were already a couple of years old yet despite this fact the concert appearances of the group sold out very quickly. As I listened to “Dark Light” I found it continuing along in the same fashion as “Love Metal” with a strong influence of “Razorblade Romance” (two records which I enjoy very much). Lead singer Ville Vallo has found a formula that works and while labeled “Love” or Gothic Metal” the whole of H.I.M music leans more towards that which was influenced by Eighties New Wave such as Billy Idol, Depeche Mode or The Cure. The Gothic label was most likely due to their names acronym of “His Infernal Majesty” as it held a sense of darkness to it as do most things Goth. The band seldom uses the log version and very simply goes by H.I.M. these days. This fact combined with the subject matter of love and death that continually play in the same yard during their music makes you conclude that this might have been the root cause of the label. However the more you listen to the band the more you will find that is it pure and simple good Melodic Hard Rock.

There are a number of standout tracks on the release which kicks off with “Vampire Heart”. The track makes good use of the John Carpenter movie riff from “Halloween”. The main single from the release is “Rip Out The Wings Of A Butterfly” which on many radio and internet stations is listed as “Wings Of A Butterfly”. I guess they are trying to make it sound nicer than it actually is. These two tracks are definitely my favorites and that surprised me to find this so quickly into the record. “Behind The Crimson Door” and “Under The Rose” have a very similar feel and style to them where Ville sings in a deeper more resonant tone than usual. The most mellow number is the title track of “Dark Light” and it really did not do much for me as I was more impressed with the number that preceded it (“Killing Loneliness”). The musicianship is still tight and holds to form with Mige, Gas, Burton and Linde all doing a great job. Overall this album will appeal to existing H.I.M. fans but more importantly it proves to be a solid enough record that will allow for new fans to jump on board with very little difficulty. Theses listeners can play this CD and not feel as though they have missed a lot and from there they can explore a little further into the back catalog. My advice is to buy this and one of the albums referenced above or the hits compilation of “Love Said No”. If I can draw one criticism to the release it would be in all of the different versions. There was a special one in a tin case with a bonus track and then there was one in a booklet with yet another track. I think that this is bad practice and especially when it’s a band that you are trying to help establish some amount of ground with. It’s taken 10 years for this band to be a “break through” artist in the USA. Let’s give them a warm reception and prove that Rock is still important to us as an audience.

Track Listing:
1. Vampire Heart
2. Rip Out The Wings Of A Butterfly
3. Under The Rose
4. Killing Loneliness
5. Dark Light
6. Behind The Crimson Door
7. The Face Of God
8. Drunk On Shadows
9. Play Dead
10. In The Nightside Of Eden

Official Web site: http://www.Heartagram.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.