“Completion Makes The Tragedy” by Coldseed

Artist: Coldseed
Title: “Completion Makes The Tragedy”
Label: Nuclear Blast Records
Release Date: 9/19/2006
Genre: Heavy Metal
Rating: 4/5

What is it about side-projects from any of these European bands that make them better than some of the main band around the world? Generally, when you have a member of a popular band who goes solo you find the end result a far less gratifying experience. Not so in the case found here with the unique power in the band Coldseed. This project comes from the unification of lead singer from Soilwork Bjorn “Speed” Strid and drummer Thomen Stauch (Blind Guardian/Savage Circus). Immediately the listener will realize that while truly a Heavy Metal album, it does not possess many of the similar qualities that they have come to know from either of these performers. Yet despite this, the entire release is an enjoyable thing with numerous hooks and tremendous amounts of melody. “Speed” as a singer is the commanding presence we all love from Soilwork but on this album he gets to use more of the melodic side we saw coming to the front a lot more on “Stabbing The Drama” (SW’s most recent effort). The same applies for drummer Stauch who everyone knows is a thundering powerhouse. On the Coldseed debut he takes different approaches at a more conventional level of playing and during songs like “Nothing But A Loser” he shows the ability of being quite restrained when necessary. This very groove-laden release owes some credit to Thrash and Old School Metal and uses a twist of the Nu stuff of merit.

“Democracy Lesson” is one of the best tracks present and could win over fans of bands like Sevendust, and Stone Sour since it follows in some of the same vibe as those bands do. “Five More To Fix” is another winner and a lesson in thrashing for the listener with a quick feel and “Low” really lets Stauch go loose with the kind of drummer we love to hear him do. The lineup of the group is complimented by Thorsten Praest (guitar), Gonzalo Alfageme Lopez (guitar), Oli Holzwarth (bass) and Mi Schuren (keyboards). The presence of Blind Guardian’s bassist and keyboardist allow the members to be a little more familiar and flexible with each others playing style. I have to say that I enjoyed this different side of life from these musicians who have each offered the Metal world some amazing stuff in the past. The influences and textures on “Completion Makes The Tragedy” offers a wide audience a solid listen that is stunning, powerful and interesting with every track. It is my hope this shows some touring and does not remain a studio project. We shall see.

Track Listing:
1. My Affliction
2. Democracy Lesson
3. Nothing But A Loser
4. Five more To Fix
5. Burning With A Shade
6. Low
7. On My Way
8. Reflection
9. Completion Makes The Tragedy
10. Hatched
11. Vulture Of The Throne
12. At Last

Official Website: http://www.coldseed.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.