“Come Clarity” by In Flames

Artist: In Flames
Title: “Come Clarity”
Label: Ferret Music
Release Date: 2/7/2006
Genre: Heavy Metal
Rating: 9/10

In Flames are one of the founders of the Gothenburg sound and for years have led an Underground Metal movement that is an ever-growing army of support for the genre. With their new release entitled “Come Clarity” we find the band switching labels to join Ferret Music and also changing the direction of their sound a little more drastically than their long time fans might expect. The result is actually a very accessible Metal record with lots of twists and turns that will entertain and surely gain them a larger following than ever before. Musically this album is fantastic and there is enough solid head bangers and fist-raising songs that the listener will hardly know what is hitting them. Singer Anders uses a couple of different styles for this one by not only having his signature screams and growls but also a little more melodic styling. He is complimented by Lisa Miskovsky for “Dead End” which is an amazing track that will be right up the alley of those who enjoy female fronted Metal these days. The effectiveness of her voice makes me want to see her contribute more with this band and perhaps some others if at all possible. While the direction has veered a little from their original course this is the kind of move that keeps a band fresh and their output ever interesting. “Take This Life” drives the stake they are taking right home at the start of the album and really showcases the drumming of Daniel Svennson (who is quite accomplished and solid on the whole album anyway). I also felt that both Bjorn and Jesper were performing some amazing feats on the guitars, enough so that more people can enjoy the type of music that In Flames brings to you.

I referred to it as accessible but that does not mean it is commercial and non Heavy, the record has some weight but I mean that it has the ability to reach beyond the normal scope. Other tracks I enjoyed were “Reflect The Storm” for its pounding chorus and title track “Come Clarity” that while slower does not lose an ounce of Metal dramatics. “Crawl Through Knives” is also interesting and uses the bands name to some effect during the chorus.

The new direction of the group holds a lot for fans of Soilwork, Dark Tranquility and Mercenary. “Pacing Death’s Trail” has so much of a Soilwork sound to it that you can see where that band had their major influence. Those who need convincing of the albums power will be impressed to know that it opened on the Billboard 200 Chart at #58. An impressive feat for a band that chose to mix some of the newer sounds of today with tastes of their classic style. Don’t miss out on this one if you never followed them before because with “Come Clarity” In Flames have begun a new journey into Metal that their fans would be wise join them on.

Track Listing:
1. Take This Life
2. Leeches
3. Reflect The Storm
4. Dead End
5. Scream
6. Come Clarity
7. Vacuum
8. Pacing Death’s Trail
9. Crawl Through Knives
10. Versus Terminus
11. Our Infinite Struggle
12. Vanishing Light
13. Your Bedtime Story Is Scaring Everyone

Official Web site: www.inflames.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.