“Classic Diamonds” by Doro

Artist: Doro
Title: “Classic Diamonds”
Label: Locomotive Records
Release Date: 6/25/2005
Genre: Heavy Metal
Rating: 2.5/5

Doro Pesch is one of the most recognized Metal Maidens in the genre’s history. She packed a hell of a punch fronting Warlock and then her own solo efforts but for some reason she decided to join the crop of talented performers who mixed their music with classical performers and release a live album. As a casual fan of some of her material, especially the Warlock years, I had doubts on how effective this release would be and very simply her material does not work with classical accompaniment. My favorite song of all time with her is “All We Are” and I still remember the video, but this rendition sounded more like something Nickelback would do on a bad day. “I Rule The Ruins” has its moments but nothing like the impact of the original. I then started to wonder if I was an old stick in the mud when my jaw dropped as she began an acoustic and softly spoken “Breaking The Law” (yes the Judas Priest one). I’m sorry Ms. Pesch but that is the song that spawned a million air guitars, and I should not be thinking of walking pastoral fields during it. Luckily the orchestra kicks in to some effect but then she starts screaming instead of singing and is joined by Udo Dirkschneider (Accept) who sounds just terrible singing this track. Don’t get me wrong as there are Accept songs that I love and that fit Udo just fine but Priest? I’m sorry man this is not your thing. Doro is a talented woman who has put forth several solid Metal efforts but I think this should have been thought of a little more before being executed. Not every performer works well with an orchestra and for this to be done the best, the classical side needs to expand on your original work of music. More times than not the classical elements become background music to a Hard Rock band that is also present. Too much like the Metallica effort which I also felt was sub-par. There is a good booklet inside with photos and lyrics to her songs but besides that there is little I enjoyed about this album. The Classic Night Orchestra themselves do a fine job as does Doro’s band but together I felt this was a mess.

Track List:
1. I Rule The Ruins
2. Metal Tango
3. Breaking The Law
4. All We Are
5. Fur Immer
6. Let Love Rain On Me
7. Burn It Up
8. Tausend mal gelebt
9. I’m In Love With You
10. Always Live To Win
11. Undying
12. Love Me In Black
13. She’s Like Thunder
14. Let Love Rain On Me – video

Official Web site: http://www.doropesch.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.