“Chaos Ridden Years: Stockholm Knockout Live” (DVD) by Children Of Bodom

Artist: Children Of Bodom
Title: “Chaos Ridden Years: Stockholm Knockout Live”
Label: Spinefarm Records
Release Date: 10/10/2006
Genre: Heavy Metal
Rating: 4/5

Children Of Bodom are another one of those exciting Metal bands to come out of the Finnish music scene with a full-frontal attack on the senses. They throttle the listener with an interesting brand of Metal that uses a lot of traditional elements, mixed with levels of Thrash and Progressive feels. It is an intense and energetic experience that makes one turn the speakers up to maximum volume and it will often leave you screaming for more. They are cited as being one of the most exciting live acts to emerge on the scene today and in addition to performing as headliners were able to make shows with Slayer, Iced Earth and Lamb Of God truly unforgettable experiences for the hungry Metal maniac. Given their concerts are nothing less than impressive it was a smart move to release “Chaos Ridden Years: Stockholm Knockout Live”, a DVD films that unleashes the insanity of a CoB performance right in your living room. Led by Alexi Laiho this incredible DVD puts you in front of the band and into the circle pit as he both screams and shreds the senses for a little over 90 minutes. Laiho is a captivating front man who seems to be able to generate high levels of adrenaline from the fans and judging by the responses heard during the concert you can tell they don’t mind. The concert was filmed as the band supported their latest release “Are You Dead Yet?” and features a great dose of the new stuff but does not leave out their older stuff on “Hate Crew Deathroll” and “Follow The Reaper” – two albums that showed why this group was a force to be reckoned with and made them tons of fans. Having seen the band on a few tours of late I was happy to review this DVD that really did do the group justice and should assist further in the bands quest for Metal domination. The camera work is excellent and makes you feel like you are there and the audio production level is exemplary. I will admit to the DVD bringing back the concert memories for me and I am sure that it will do the same for you. As a Metal fan who has only followed them since “Follow The Reaper”, I can was able to find quite a few of the songs I enjoyed presented here. Some of my favorites from the performance would definitely be “Needled 24/7”, “Silent Night, Bodom Night” and “Are You Dead Yet?”. I do not think the Metal heads will find themselves disappointed when they watch this video. Not only do you get some killer songs and bonuses but there are also a couple of cool solos to enjoy.

The DVD also includes all of the bands videos to date (“Downfall”, “Deadnight Warrior”, “Everytime I Die”, “Needled 24/7”, “Trashed”, “Lost & Strungout”, “Sixpounder”, “In Your Face”, & both versions of “Are You Dead Yet?”). A historical documentary traces their beginnings and brings you up to date as well as other footage. The concert portion of this film will also be released as a double live CD, so if videos are not your thing you can just look into that one.

Track Listing:
1. Intro
2. Living Dead Beat
3. Sixpounder
4. Silent Night, Bodom Night
5. Hate Me!
6. We’re Not Gonna Fall
7. Angels Don’t Kill
8. Bodom After Midnight/Bodom Beach Terror – medley
9. Follow The Reaper
10. Needled 24/7
11. In Your Face
12. Hate Crew Deathroll
13. Are You Dead Yet?
14. Lake Bodom
15. Everytime I Die
16. Downfall
17. Outro

Official Website: http://www.cobhc.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.