“Chaos Ridden Years” by Children Of Bodom

Artist: Children Of Bodom
Title: “Chaos Ridden Years”
Label: Spinefarm Records
Release Date: 10/24/2006
Genre: Melodic Heavy Metal
Rating: 3/5

Recently, Children Of Bodom released “Chaos Ridden Years: Stockholm Knockout Live”, their first-ever live performance DVD. It included an exciting concert along with all of the bands videos to date and some other fun stuff. This release is the audio version of the concert only, so it would only appeal to you if you were one of those people who prefer audio to visual when it comes to concert recordings. Given the fact that CoB is a “must see” live band and with the DVD you are able to do that even if never able to visit a physical concert, there is no real reason to own the audio-only CD. Yes, it is a great recording and features music from their latest release “Are You Dead Yet?”, and my favorite from their catalog “Follow The Reaper”, but for some reason I was not brought into the mix in the same manner that I felt that I was when watching the live performance DVD. Perhaps this conclusion was come to after seeing the group in concert on a number of occasions. It is without argument that the energy of Alexi Laiho and his band mates does come through the speakers and make tracks like “Silent Night Bodom Night” and “Needled 24/7” rumble the very ground but at the end of it all you are left wondering what the band appears like live.

You need not wonder if you snare the DVD first and then decide whether you want to add the audio only piece to your Metal library. Outside of the completist fan, this one could also provide some education on those who are looking for a live “Best Of” collection of the group’s best music. I found the lack of any real significant photography or liner notes on the enclosed booklet to be a little on the cheap side. I expected this to be part of the package and its omission takes a little away from my enjoyment of the release. My call is buy the DVD first and then adventure a little further if you love it, and you will love it.

Track Listing:
1. Living Dead Beat
2. Sixpounder
3. Silent Night, Bodom Night
4. Hate Me!
5. We’re Not Gonna Fall
6. Angels Don’t Kill
7. Deadbeats I
8. Bodom After Midnight/Bodom Beach Terror
9. Follow The Reaper
10. Needled 24/7
11. Clash Of The Booze Brothers
12. In Your Face
13. Hate Crew Deathroll
14. Are You Dead Yet?
15. Latvala – guitar solo
16. Lake Bodom
17. Everytime I Die
18. Downfall

Official Website: www.cobhc.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.