“Century Child” by Nightwish

Artist: Nightwish
Title: “Century Child”
Label: Century Media Records
Release Date: 2002
Genre: Operatic Metal
Rating: 8/10

When you take the time to consider the more standout bands in the world of Metal nowadays, Nightwish is probably one of the first to come to mind. With each release Nightwish brings you into a diverse world that combines metal with arias and epic orchestrations. Tarja Turunen definitely has one of the best and most beautiful voices to come along in some time. She has led the way for modern metal women of today to find a stronger foothold in the music we love. “Century Child” was the first readily available releases in the USA courtesy of Century Media Records. This is a great CD, and it quickly follows up on the success of “Wishmaster”. Beginning with “Bless The Child” you are quickly drawn into the sound of the band by Tarja’s warm vocals and a very eerie haunting melody. When the “End Of All Hope” kicks in you find that the group can be heavy as they find the need. This number is full of incredible double drumming by Jukka and great guitar wizardry of Emmpu. For those who enjoy a hearty chorus the track “Dead To The World” might be most impressive. I admit that on the CD, these few are actually among my favorites. When Nightwish first played the States a little over a year ago, they performed some these and it made enjoying them all the more easier.

Showcasing her softer side, Tarja serenades you with “Forever Yours”, it is the closest thing to a ballad that you will find on the CD. There is also an unusual item on the disk and that is “Phantom Of The Opera”. Now I am not speaking of the Iron Maiden song of the same name, but instead the version from the Broadway play. While I am aware of this plays wide and worldwide popularity, I admit I found it amusing that a band from Finland would choose to perform it. Reservations aside, the band does not disappoint and brings the sound of Broadway to an entirely different audience with this one. You will be impressed.

Nightwish has since moved on from Century Media to Roadrunner Records as their label in the USA. Yet, I am not certain if they will also take on the back catalog. For now, if you need those you should look into CM’s site. They reissued them here and added a track or two for the listener to enjoy it more. Nightwish is definitely one of those bands that if you are for some reason not looking into you should. They have defined a new level of style to it, and raised power metals bar a little higher.

Track List:
1. Bless The Child
2. End Of All Hope
3. Dead To The World
4. Ever Dream
5. Slaying The Dreamer
6. Forever Yours
7. Ocean Soul
8. Feel For You
9. The Phantom Of The Opera
10. Beauty And The Beast

Official Web site: www.Nightwish.com

Editor’s Note: This article was written for another medium prior to the 2005 launch of PiercingMetal.com and has been added to our content for your enjoyment.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.