“Greatest Highs” by The Kottonmouth Kings

Artist: Kottonmouth Kings
Title: “Greatest Highs”
Label: Capitol Records/Suburban Noize Records
Release Date: 1/15/2008
Genre: Rap Rock/Psychedelic Hip Hop Punk
Rating: 3/5

If you like your Rap music with a solid heavy dose of Punk attitude and even a little bit of Psychedelia tossed in for good measure then perhaps the guys in Kottonmouth Kings are doing the kind of thing that you have been looking for in your musical quest. Having grown up as a hard core Rocker myself, I admit to cringing when Anthrax first threw their hat into such collaborations by giving us “I’m The Man” and while I originally found such things hard to get into it was over time that I learned to appreciate some of the better stuff when bands like Linkin Park and Korn were on top of their game and doing their thing.

This brings us to the first-ever Kottonmouth Kings best of compilation on the suitably titled “Greatest Highs”. The title is perfect since a lot of the bands material seems to focus on the aspect of getting high and while one of the track’s guest stars comes from Cypress Hill it should be noted that at one point the group was named band of the year by High Times magazine. So based on this there is a little bit of a theme going on in their musical adventures. As a compilation this seems to do the trick as it features a couple of tracks from all of the bands releases beginning with “Royal Highness” and running all the way up until 2007’s “Cloud Nine”. They even made sure to address some of the bands remixed material that make the album all the more comprehensive at the end of the day. There are two new tracks to enjoy in “No Future” and “Can Anybody Hear Me?” I didn’t mind finding new songs on the release given there were thirty seven tracks in all for the fans to appreciate. When the bands put out a twelve track best of is when this drives me crazy.

Guest stars on the tracks are many as this release covers a wide scope of albums. Such luminaries to the Rap and Rock Rap scene that make appearances are Cypress Hill, Tech N9ne, Big Krizz Kaliko, Dogboy, Insane Clown Posse, Lady Llove, Jack Grisham and Corporate Avenger. Overall this is bound to impress the bands long time fans and make them all the more hungry for their next release. If this is the genre that gets your body moving, then I highly recommend that you add it to your collection.

Track Listing:
1. Where’s The Weed At?
2. Full Throttle
3. Bump
4. Put It Down
5. Fire It Up
6. First Class
7. City 2 City
8. 4-2-0
9. Peace Of Mind
10. Tell Me Why
11. Outcast
12. King Klick
13. Day Dreamin’ Fazes
14. Tangerine Sky
15. Friends
16. Bad Habits
17. Rest Of My Life
18. Dog’s Life
19. Positive Vibe
20. Can Anybody Hear Me?
21. Everybody Move
22. Suburban Life
23. Livin Proof
24. Bring It On
25. King’s Blend
26. Sub-Noize Rats
27. SRG
28. The Lottery
29. Think 4 Yourself
30. Float Away
31. Peace Not Greed
32. Dying Daze
33. Bong Tokin’ Alcoholics
34. Gone Git High
35. So High
36. Life Rolls On
37. Life Ain’t What It Seems
38. No Future
39. Rip The Night Away

Official Website: http://www.kottonmouthkings.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.