“CBGB OMFUG Masters: Live 2/3/03, The Bowery Collection” by The Queers

Artist: The Queers
Title: “CBGB OMFUG Masters: Live 2/3/03, The Bowery Collection”
Label: MVD Audio
Release Date: 5/13/2008
Genre: Punk Rock
Rating: 3.5/5

Since 1982, the Punk Rock band known as The Queers have been entertaining the dedicated fans of their brand of Surf Punk meets Pop Punk and this live CD appropriately titled “Live at C.B.G.B.’s” captures them in action on the stage at the now extinct but still legendary Punk Rock club. The recording presents the bands full set according to its liner notes and since it runs some thirty one numbers I am quick to believe this to be true as Joe Queer and company deliver quick paced riffs and drumming that makes the couch potato listener want to jump out of their seats and dance. If you like The Queers sound then you will love this but if you don’t “get them”, then this is not recommended because much of the bands repertoire follows a similar vibe and songs tend to run right into the next one with often only a quick “1-2-3-4” ala The Ramones offering you any separation or distinction. I was never more than the casual fan myself, but I did enjoy the chance to have so many of their tunes on one CD and done live as this becomes the perfect release to load onto ones music player and take on the road with you. The recording captured the band during their show on February 3rd, 2003 and while this is a couple of different lineups into the bands career, the main man is still present and holding the banner of their musical style proud. Some of the highlights on the quality recording come via the bands cover of the Ramones classic “Rockaway Beach” which is their opener and “Surf Goddess”, and their crowd pleaser “Ursula Finally Has Tits”, which I understand is an actual homage to a fan that followed them for a long time and well, you can figure out the rest behind that one. From beginning to end the gig sounded like a lot of fun and one that is probably fondly remembered by anyone who was in attendance.

This release is one of many such recordings that were done at the legendary club which closed its doors forever in late October 2006 and was replaced by a clothing store. The sound quality of the live show is superb so one can assume that it came from the in-house board. C.B.G.B. was always known for having a great sound system. The small booklet inside features photos from the club as it used to look before it was gone and liner notes from “Handsome” Dick Manitoba who gives his views on the club and its owner Hilly Kristel who passed away in August of 2007. If you loved the joint or hated the place, it was still one of those clubs that left you with a memory based on its historic place in the music world. These CD’s are a great way to remember some of the artists who performed on its stage for their fans. Check this one out especially if the Surf Punk game is your own.

Track Listing:
1. Rockaway Beach
2. No Tit
3. Brush Your Teeth
4. I Want Cunt
5. Monster Zero
6. This Place Sucks
7. You’re Tripping
8. I Live This Life
9. Surf Goddess
10. Blabbermouth
11. Kicked Out Of The Webelos
12. I Hate Everything
13. Murder In The Brady House
14. Like A Parasite
15. My Old Man’s A Fatso
16. Fuck You
17. Teenage Bonehead
18. I Cant Stop Farting
19. Granola Head
20. I Will Be With You
21. Yeah Well Whatever
22. Love Love Love
23. Another Girl
24. I Only Drink Bud
25. Punk Rock Girls
26. Ursula Finally Has Tits
27. Tamara Is A Punk
28. I Met Her At The Rat
29. Tulu Is A Wimp
30. Fuck The World I’m Hanging Out With You Tonight
31. This Place Sucks

Official Website: http://www.thequeersrock.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.